1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro Fit SD Card Sat Nav

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by sparkymarky321, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. sparkymarky321
    Offline

    sparkymarky321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Hi there! I have recently ordered a New A3 1.4 sport. However i have no decided that i want the SD card sat nav. I have spoken with the company that i'm leasing from and they said that it wasn't possible to amend the order (they did try). I contacted one of my local Audi dealers and they said it was possible to retro-fit it but it would cost £680 to supply and fit. No as far as I'm aware all they need to do is enter a code to enable it and supply the SD card for the maps. I could be wrong, but that seems like a lot of money! Has anybody had this done for cheaper?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. mjcourtney
    Online

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    264
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    The SD NAV upgrade comes as a kit / part from Audi. The kit includes the SD card with the maps, your license to use it, and the activation codes to enable it on the car. List price for this is around £500, plus then the dealer labour on top to install it. Only a dealer can fit this, as it has to be authorised by Audi. As you say, minimal work required, but I can see a dealer charging a minimum of an hour so that's another ~£100 on top of the kit.

    £680 is one of the higher prices I've seen mentioned on the forum, I reckon you might be able to knock them down to £600 if you ask nicely.
    #2
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Welcome to the site.

    The hardware is generally fitted factory but not activated based on the buyers choices, so they subsidise this until such time its activated, which then covers towards the hardware you didn't pay for initially, its a fair POV for them & allot less hassle for you retrofitting from scratch.
    #3
  5. sparkymarky321
    Offline

    sparkymarky321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Thanks. I can see audi's point of view. But asking the dealer to fit an extra that normally costs £495 when you buy the vehicle for £680 seems a bit greedy if you ask me.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    With respect, why cant the dealer make some money out of the deal, afterall you bought the car from a nice fancy showroom that cost several million to build etc & costs a lot to run, in grand scheme of things, £180 isn't that much for there take especially when the tool they use for it is £10K plus each, plus all the bills & salaries, its small change overall, just suck it up & pay if you want it enabled :p
    #5
  7. driver_tim
    Offline

    driver_tim Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Does anyone know what the map update situation is with the built in satnav? On the A3 I have on order I've not specced it, but may look to upgrade later. The thing that has put me off built in systems in the past has always been that map updates have always been infrequent and expensive compared to portable units. Is this still the case with the 8V unit?
    #6
  8. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    323
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    It may seem like a lot of money just to enter a code and supply an SD card but, by the same logic, it costs Microsoft pennies to produce and package a DVD with Office on it - would you expect them to sell it for a fiver though? The cost isn't just the tangible hardware you're purchasing, it's the licence to use the software and data and the development and production cost of that is incorporated into the price.
    #7
    NHN likes this.
  9. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    If its anything like 3G MMI then it will be Audi only for map updates due to needing a connection to Germany to activate.
    #8
  10. sparkymarky321
    Offline

    sparkymarky321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2013]
    Great news! Ive found a dealer that will do it for the cost of the optional extra! So with respect i think the dealer were having a laugh trying to charge an extra £180!
    #9
  11. Yolo_8p3
    Online

    Yolo_8p3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Jul 12, 2013]
    What dealer out of curiosity??
    #10
  12. mjcourtney
    Online

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    264
    [Jul 12, 2013]
    That's excellent! £180 was definitely too steep for fitting :)
    #11
  13. sparkymarky321
    Offline

    sparkymarky321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2013]
    Oxford Audi are going to do it for £500.
    #12
  14. kenny_boon
    Offline

    kenny_boon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    does the roof ariel need to be retro fitted aswell? not sure if this comes on all A3s or it needs to be added?
    #13
  15. c.grex
    Offline

    c.grex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    I think that comes on all models, with all the prep for sat nav. As pointed out you just need the SD card and then it activating.
    #14
  16. driver_tim
    Offline

    driver_tim Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    Yes, my understanding is that all UK spec A3s have the GPS receiver in place. If your car is an import it may be a different matter though.
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    No need for antenna install, all 8V's come pre-spec'd with gps antenna afaik.
    #16
  18. Cumbrian_bob
    Offline

    Cumbrian_bob Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    102
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    Looks like your local audi dealer is adding a little too much to the price.

    Good job on finding a better offer, shows its certainly worth shopping around.
    #17
  19. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    143
    [Oct 29, 2013]
    laughable really, £680 for a sd card with a few maps...how much is a cheap but reasonable sat nav now? £100 max, lol you have to love Audi!
    #18
  20. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    271
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Anyone know if the S3 has the NAV button installed (next to gear lever) as part off the sat-nav prep?
    #19
  21. RYuill
    Offline

    RYuill Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    155
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Yes there is also one on the steering wheel
    #20
  22. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    271
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Thanks, even though I don't spec Nav from the factory?
    #21
  23. MA3RC
    Offline

    MA3RC Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    109
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Every A3 comes prepped with Sat Nav. You're ultimately paying £500 for a SD card, is the easiest way of putting it
    #22
  24. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    271
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Yeah, I was just wanting to check that when you don't spec Nav from the factory that you still get all the Nav buttons and all in the same place.
    #23
  25. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    777
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    You're paying £500 for the SD card, mapping data and licence more accurately...
    #24
  26. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    271
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Excellent, cheers for the info folks :)
    #25
  27. jasso86
    Offline

    jasso86 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jun 22, 2014]
    Guess I'll stick to Google maps on my Moto X... hehehe
    #26
  28. Abzz
    Offline

    Abzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 25, 2014]
    Hi Guys, Newby here, currently got an '06 8P 2L TDI SB S line and swapping for a '13 8V 2L TDI on Saturday.

    As it hasn't got Sat Nav was interested in this "upgrade" by buying SD card from ebay and paying for fit only.
    however there seems to be two types of SD card on ebay "mmi navigation (mib-s)" and "RMC" what one do I need for the A3?
    #27
  29. jasso86
    Offline

    jasso86 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jun 25, 2014]
    You need to buy it from the dealer. Period.
    #28
  30. Abzz
    Offline

    Abzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 25, 2014]
    OK Jasso, that doesn't answer my question but thanks for the quick reply! does anyone know the difference between the MMI and the RMC? i.e. which one does the 8V A3 take?
    #29
  31. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    777
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    I think jasso was saying that the dealer will know so if you buy it from them you won't have an issue. The main cost is in the licence, not the card or data itself, so getting it from ebay isn't going to save you much/any money. Worth getting quotes though from the dealer for the part + activating, and activating only if you supply your own part, to see what the difference is - I could be wrong.
    #30
  32. Abzz
    Offline

    Abzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    Thanks Cemerson, as its for an MMI display I am going to assume I need the "MMI" SD card.
    I will ask for a quote and let you know how I get on.

    Cheers
    #31
  33. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    777
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    I have no idea which you'll need, what the difference is (or whether there is one!)
    #32
  34. frazzeld
    Offline

    frazzeld Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    (mib-s) is the card, if you buy one from ebay (Audi dealer) it will cost you around £195.....and then you will still need to have an Audi dealer activate it SD Sat Nav Card.jpg
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
    #33
  35. jasso86
    Offline

    jasso86 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    Exactky this is what I meant. But hey, asking never hurt anyone.
    #34
  36. jaybv6
    Offline

    jaybv6 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    But surely anyone with Vagcom can activate it?
    #35
  37. Martinbanshee
    Offline

    Martinbanshee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    271
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    I think the car has to connect to Audi in Germany via the internet to have it unlocked.
    #36

Share This Page