1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

retro fit sat nav unit ?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by fifer1981, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. fifer1981
    Offline

    fifer1981 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    hello guys

    just bought a 04 tdi se 6 and was wondering what i would need to retro fit the audi sat nav head unit ? is it slide out the old cd head unit and the new one slides in (actual placement i know wires and antennas need doing) would one from a 06 a4 fit ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 8, 2008]
    Assuming you have a Double DIN headunit your laughing!
    Make sure you get all the cable adaptors and GPS antenna.
    Check out the Navplus website which covers all aspects of RNS-E retrofittig aspects.

    I had to do a little more with a Single to Double DIN conversion first - but well worth it.
    #2
  4. fifer1981
    Offline

    fifer1981 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    rollox ive got a single din . so whats involved in making the navigation unit fit ?


    oh absolutley loving the car the only car i think ive bought where ive never missed my old car in the slightest lol
    #3
  5. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... . VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    For in-depth advice check out the http://www.navplus.us/forums/ website which covers all aspects of RNS-E retrofittig aspects.

    In summary, Single DIN (SD) to Double DIN (DD) requires....

    - New A/C control unit which is DD compatible
    - New DD cage
    - strip out the centre console - remove the SD cage - fit the DD cage
    - make some mods to your existing centre console surround with a hacksaw
    - refit centre console
    - refit new DD A/C unit
    - fit new DD ICE unit - could be Symphony II as an interim before fitting RNS-E

    You will have left over and no longer useable in your car:
    - SD ICE unit - probably Concert II
    - SD A/C control unit
    #4
  6. fifer1981
    Offline

    fifer1981 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    looks like i best get saving my pennies up then thanks for your reply
    #5
  7. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    double din aircon unit isnt required, you only have to trim the sides down with a dremmel or good knife. there is a over hang on the outer trim,if you trim it back to the next stage of the plastic surround (easy to see when its in your hand) then its location lugs/grooves on the side are suitable to slide in in the lower position for the double din location aswell as the single din location, saving you money.
    plenty of people have done this and im one of them,perfect fit,very easy diy mod.
    #6
  8. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    forgot to mention that it is better to get a double din ashtray,but there not expesive,can be picked up cheap enough on ebay,although not essential.
    #7
  9. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 12, 2008]
    sorry,not the best pic but to to show you that it can be done ok.[​IMG]
    #8
  10. ricofrancois
    Offline

    ricofrancois New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Hello

    Do you need a new ESP button or is it the same?

    Thanks

    Eric

    Audi 2.4 SE AUTO 2003 Single Din
    #9
  11. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    its the same rico
    #10
  12. ricofrancois
    Offline

    ricofrancois New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Hello

    So what exactly do you mean by removing the centre console? Is there any post with step by step guide for A4 Cabrio?

    The one I found on the link is for a A3.

    Thanks

    Rico
    #11
  13. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    #12
  14. ozique
    Offline

    ozique Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    #13
  15. ricofrancois
    Offline

    ricofrancois New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2008]
    #14
  16. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 7, 2008]
    thats spot on,i did my own in my cab and its exactly the same.
    just take your time and youll be fine.
    theres nothing to worry about around the gear selector.
    #15
  17. ricofrancois
    Offline

    ricofrancois New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2008]
    1wheelonly you're always online...I know who to ask when I struggle :sm4:
    #16
  18. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 7, 2008]
    youll be fine mate,but if you struggle with any of it then ill help in anyway i can,not a problem mate.
    #17

Share This Page