1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro fit RNSE

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JamesS4cab, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    As you can tell i already have the fidgets to mod the car and was wondering how hard it is to retro fit RNSE as i currently have the Concert HU with the std speakers?

    BTW - standard speakers appear to be very handy!!
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
    #1
  2. crypric23
    Offline

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    What head unit is in your car at the moment ?
    #2
  3. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my 2009 A3, it was so easy an idiot managed to do it (me!)

    Take the Concert head unit out, plug in the RNS-E ..... that was it!

    Apparently some cars need to be coded for everything to work properly, but mine seems fine!

    Chris
    #3
  4. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    I have the concert fitted with the genuine Audi ipod interace.
    #4
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this gong in the S4 cab or an A3?

    If it's an A3 with no BOSE and the car is an 07 or newer model then it's plug and play, just mount your GPS antenna under the dash and away you go... I'd code it all up thought, just to do it properly ;)
    You may suffer degraded FM reception as your car has the wrong antenna system for the RNSe. There is also a fix for this, have a search around for my thread.

    If it's an A4 then there are a few other things to think about.
    #5
  6. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    S4 has gone just before christmas to make way for a 57 plate S3 that i purchased yeterday!!
    #6
  7. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Your good to go then!
    EDIT: Well you need to source an RNSe first....
    #7
  8. david_phillips95
    Offline

    david_phillips95 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    As mentioned it is a doddle to fit the most time consuming part is remvoving your clocks and fitting the GPS reciever behind them but even that was easy. If you have a multi function wheel, bluetooth phone, ipod connect/aux etc in you will need it coded. You can change the display screen to say S3 also.

    Davie
    #8

Share This Page