1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro fit DIS

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by chrisru, Oct 7, 2007.

  1. chrisru
    Offline

    chrisru Guest

    [Oct 7, 2007]
    I've followed the threads about the colour vs red DIS, so I realise I can't fit a colour DIS to my car but all I want to get is DIS. My B7 doesn't have the multifunction stalk for DIS but is it a matter of fitting the stalk and telling the electronics that it is there? Anyone else done this?

    Thanks

    Chris
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2007]
    Yes, just fit the new stalk and code it to the car using VAG-COM. You may also need to ground a wire to prevent the low washer fluid warning from always being on, Pretty straightforward though.
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Oct 10, 2007]
    A 3.0TDi quattro s-line doesn't have a computer as standard?
    You are kidding me?
    It's not as simple as just adding the stalk, I think you need a new DIS. Audi don't tend to leave unused electronics lying around behind the dash just waiting for someone to connect them up.
    #3
  5. G4JSG
    Offline

    G4JSG Gotcha!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2007]
    I had a B6 without DIS and I had an audi tech on it for 6 hours with loads of bits and he couldn't get it to work.

    So unless the B7 is lots different I would bet if it deosn't have it then it can't be added.
    #4
  6. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2007]
    Try reading this thread on TSN as these guys have retrofitted DIS on a B6 it may be what you are looking for.
    Link

    They have enabled DIS just with a new stalk & without a new cluster, but I am not sure what functionality if any is missing over the factory fitted DIS and if the B7 is the same.
    #5
  7. jase0851
    Offline

    jase0851 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 11, 2007]

    andy motrosparkz has just done it by adding a different stalk and coding

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?p=431156#post431156
    #6
  8. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 12, 2007]
    On a B7 it is that simple, I have fitted this a few weeks ago to my dad's B7 2.0 TDI and it all works a treat.
    #7
  9. chrisru
    Offline

    chrisru Guest

    [Oct 13, 2007]
    Thanks for the advice, and in reply to AndyMac I wish that Audi didn't make all of these items options as it's a pain when you buy secondhand but they do seem keen to get every penny out of people.
    #8

Share This Page