1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro-fit Bose

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Freddiedog, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. Freddiedog
    Offline

    Freddiedog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2007]
    Does anyone know whether you can retro-fit the bose sound system, if so how much will it cost?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. si_reading
    Offline

    si_reading Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2007]
    For what it would probably cost I'd probably fit a different setup myself. I had a really nice Focal/JL setup in my last A3 which sounded awersome. Got Bose in my new A3 only because I couldn't be botered putting the interior to bits on this A3 to fit wires etc lol.

    I guess if you found someone selling 2nd hand Bose parts and fitted them yourself it could be quite cheap. Just Audi Parts prices would be stupid money I'd guess for all the Bose parts required.

    Si
    #2
  4. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Guest

    [Aug 17, 2007]
    As Si said it would be easier to upgrade your system to aftermarket gear than fit bose

    I contemplated the idea but went for aftermarket

    I have 6.5" Focal KP2 components up front, Becker Grand Prix head unit, 2 genesis amps, audiocontrol eql and diamond D6 10"

    great system for SQ
    #3
  5. mitch78
    Offline

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 17, 2007]
    :thumbsup:
    #4
  6. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Guest

    [Aug 17, 2007]
    these are my first focals and will def not be my last!
    #5
  7. si_reading
    Offline

    si_reading Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2007]
    Focal stuff is impressive sounded much better in my black A3 than my current white A3's Bose imo.
    #6
  8. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Guest

    [Aug 17, 2007]
    focals will fit straight in si lol
    #7
  9. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    A mate of mine looked into this retrofit. It was a lot of work and the cost of the parts from Audi almost made his hair fall out. Needless to say he didn't do it.
    #8
  10. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Guest

    [Aug 19, 2007]
    a decent aftermarket set anyway will kick the ass off any bose system
    #9
  11. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 20, 2007]
    Having removed the Bose setup in mine and replaced it with a decent aftermarket setup I'd tend to agree.

    Retro fit Bose would be a big job as it uses a totally different wiring configuration to the non-Bose. The Bose wiring loom is installed at the factory whilst it is in build.

    Paul
    #10
  12. si_reading
    Offline

    si_reading Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 20, 2007]
    I know I had the Focal K2 Power Comps in my last A3 it's ust having to wire in amps etc which takes time running cables up and down the car. Then I had JL W3's and, caps and more amps lol. Wanted the practicality of having a usuable boot again in this car lol.
    #11

Share This Page