1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resetting the ECU

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by robthehungrymonkey, May 25, 2004.

  1. robthehungrymonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have read previously on earlier posts that resetting the ECU is a good idea from time to time, if this is the case how is it done? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif (coming from a mechanically incompetent! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif). I've got a 2001 S3, what exactly does the reset do to the performance?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Speedo

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disconnect the battery for a few mins - that should do the trick
     
  4. Grant

    Grant Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Audi S3 Audi RS3

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    78
    Or unplug the connector from the ECU for a couple of minutes.
     
  5. DAF

    DAF Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you uncouple the connector for the ECU make sure you take out the red security tab on the ECU cable it should be on the right handside of the engine bay. You can see it better if you take your engine cover off it just pulls off.Also take note of the little white line on the ECU connector plug so you put it back on the same way.
     
  6. excursion

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my car at least, you need 20 minutes to let the KAM battery discharge.
     
  7. Grant

    Grant Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Audi S3 Audi RS3

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    78
    Reply from AmD:

    With your S3's ECU there isn't actually any need to clear the memory when changing to different fuels to see the benefits. The ECU will adapt itself with higher octane fuel and also with lower octane fuel. Should you remove the plug from the ECU anyway, the remap will not be lost.
     
  8. DAF

    DAF Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for going away from the main topic, but can anyone tell me of a good back box, and a good induction kit for my 160bhp TDi. Cheers all. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif
     
  9. robthehungrymonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    Will leaving the battery unplugged for that long affect the stereo or alarm?
     
  10. Mike.M

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    171
    Induction Kit...................bet Rich will be here in a minute with the Tiapan! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
     
  11. excursion

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Robthehungrymonkey said:
    Will leaving the battery unplugged for that long affect the stereo or alarm?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The stereo will enter safe mode about a second after the battery is unplugged. As for the alarm it's never affected mine [​IMG]
     
  12. Speedo

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    if u have an Alpine all settings will be lost, and im sure that will hold true for most makes.
     
  13. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3 Mike said:
    Induction Kit...................bet Rich will be here in a minute with the Tiapan! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Me?? never! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/angel.gif

    ... but you can have one if you like! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
     

Share This Page