1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resetting the ECU

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by robthehungrymonkey, May 25, 2004.

  1. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read previously on earlier posts that resetting the ECU is a good idea from time to time, if this is the case how is it done? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif (coming from a mechanically incompetent! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif). I've got a 2001 S3, what exactly does the reset do to the performance?
    #1
  2. Speedo
    Offline

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disconnect the battery for a few mins - that should do the trick
    #2
  3. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or unplug the connector from the ECU for a couple of minutes.
    #3
  4. DAF
    Offline

    DAF Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you uncouple the connector for the ECU make sure you take out the red security tab on the ECU cable it should be on the right handside of the engine bay. You can see it better if you take your engine cover off it just pulls off.Also take note of the little white line on the ECU connector plug so you put it back on the same way.
    #4
  5. excursion
    Offline

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my car at least, you need 20 minutes to let the KAM battery discharge.
    #5
  6. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reply from AmD:

    With your S3's ECU there isn't actually any need to clear the memory when changing to different fuels to see the benefits. The ECU will adapt itself with higher octane fuel and also with lower octane fuel. Should you remove the plug from the ECU anyway, the remap will not be lost.
    #6
  7. DAF
    Offline

    DAF Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for going away from the main topic, but can anyone tell me of a good back box, and a good induction kit for my 160bhp TDi. Cheers all. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif
    #7
  8. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will leaving the battery unplugged for that long affect the stereo or alarm?
    #8
  9. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    3
    Induction Kit...................bet Rich will be here in a minute with the Tiapan! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #9
  10. excursion
    Offline

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Robthehungrymonkey said:
    Will leaving the battery unplugged for that long affect the stereo or alarm?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The stereo will enter safe mode about a second after the battery is unplugged. As for the alarm it's never affected mine [​IMG]
    #10
  11. Speedo
    Offline

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    if u have an Alpine all settings will be lost, and im sure that will hold true for most makes.
    #11
  12. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3 Mike said:
    Induction Kit...................bet Rich will be here in a minute with the Tiapan! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Me?? never! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/angel.gif

    ... but you can have one if you like! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #12

Share This Page