1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reset service indicator 2006 8P

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Geraldy212, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    Just got through servicing my 2006 A3, and tried to reset the service indicator. Turned on the ignition, pulled out the button under the speedo, and it said "service due in 22 days". According to the owner's manual, if you do this it will reset the service interval to --- and then after driving it, it will indicate the next service in xxxxkms and xxxx days. However, it just won't make the reset happen. I did the same service last year, and reset the service indicator OK. Cannot for the life of me remember what I did, except follow the service book as mentioned above. Any ideas?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    Guys and Girls, help me out here. I have done what it says in the instruction manual, and the service indicator will not
    for some reason reset. What else can I try, or is there a special technique I need to use?
     
  4. bing

    bing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am almost sure you can only reset the "Oil Service" light and NOT the other service light,
    the main service light needs to be reset by VCDS

    regards
     
  5. MrWhItEwOlF

    MrWhItEwOlF Audi A3 Sport 1.6 2006

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    If it is what I think it is the oil/service warning on the DIS is the same for my A3 8P 2006

    there is a simple video on YouTube showing you what to do to reset the service indicator

    AUDI A3 instrument cluster oil lamp service interval reset AFTER 2003 - YouTube

    As for the instructions manual thing you said Im pretty sure mine doesn't say it in mine :\ as its mean't to only be known by dealers/garages

    MrWhItEwOlF
     
  6. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    First of all, thank you of those who took the time to post. Tried the above, watched the video, nothing worked. Then, I tried
    pulling and holding the knob under the speedo, and when I pulled and held it for quite some time, the display suddenly reset itself to "Next service in 15,000 kms or 365 days". Success. Hope this will good info for other members with 2006 models like mine.
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    I thought you had a vcds cable geraldy?
     
  8. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    No NHN, I just wish I had one. What is the latest (best) price these days?
     
  9. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Nige (NHN) sells genuine ones. He is doing a group buy at the moment, £236! Very good price and worth every penny IMHO.
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Thanks Dan, did my advice on the TT work out?

    Its £230 atm Geraldy:) plus any postage to your country
     
  11. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Sorry mate thought it was 236, me trying to make commission, lol!

    I didn't get any info from you on the TT mate, but yeah sorted it, eventually.
    Had to solder two repair wires to get the length, also the wire that comes with the kit has the wrong connector at one end for the engine ecu.
    In the end I ran the wire through the grommet for the bonnet cable.

    Should be a breeze next time, only PITA was the security plate getting the bolts off.

    Sorry if I pestered you on this mate. You back from Italy?
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Commission, whats that, as I dont make anything noticable on them anyway lmfao.

    I suggested via email, a route through the firewall to the ecu, but you sorted it so all good huh.

    Sorry I missed your call mate as I left my phone at relations over here, didnt get back 2 days lol.

    Nope didnt pester me at all, sorry I wasnt available to help.
     

Share This Page