1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reprogramming Keyfob HELP - 58 Plate Audi A3 Sportback

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JSG, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. JSG
    Offline

    JSG New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    Hello All

    Background – My wife had her handbag stolen whilst she was out shopping and her bag contained the keys for the car (lets call this Key 1). I picked up the car from the shopping centre car park using my spare key (Key 2). Now because her bag contained details of where we live, I thought I had better get Key 2 reprogrammed from Audi in case the thief took the car in the middle of the night. Audi charged me £69 to get my key reprogrammed. A week later the police had recovered my wife’s bag complete with my wife’s keys (key 1). Obviously because I had the car/key 2 reprogrammed, key 1 is no longer able to start the car (although you can use it to manually unlock the drivers door with key 1).

    Can anybody help me with this? Ideally I guess I just need the Key 2 key fob settings cloned onto the Key 1 fob.

    Much appreciated guys.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. bmh.01
    Offline

    bmh.01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    Same with with Audi as you did before?
    #2
  4. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    If you explained to Audi that the key had been stolen then they will have disabled that key fob. They will not have reprogrammed yours.

    Take both keys into Audi, explain the police got the key back and they will re-enable it. Might cost another £69 though !!
    #3
  5. Mr. B
    Offline

    Mr. B English...not so good

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    160
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    QQ I have a keyless entry fob for a A5, can I program it to just unlock/lock my A3 without going to Audi?
    #4
  6. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    I doubt it - with it being keyless I would image it has a different transponder coding system.

    You could buy a suitable key fob of ebay ( make sure it's the same frequency) and code it with VCDS to lock / unlock.
    #5
  7. Mr. B
    Offline

    Mr. B English...not so good

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    160
    [Jan 24, 2013]
    Darn oh well. Still looks good on my key ring lol.
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Yeap nicked key would of been removed from the system by audi anyway, so its useless now for starting the car, you can reprogram the remote functions with vcds, but useless to move anywhere with it as such, back to audi with all docs & both keys & they will wipe/reload them both again.

    You wont be able to pair 1 key with 2 different chassis's for a start & certainly audi atm wouldnt design a system with this ability, as yet anyway regardless of advanced key or standard systems.
    #7
  9. JSG
    Offline

    JSG New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    2
    Right OK mate, I guess I'm buggered till I have another £69 spare then!
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 25, 2013]
    Just ask the dealer nicely, they may be kind & do again for free given what happened :)
    #9

Share This Page