1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reprogramming imboliser

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by rasA4, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi my mate has a audi a6 1999 , he bought a used 3 button remote from ebay and got a key cut , we programmed using the audiworld
    http://www.audiworld.com/tech/misc13.shtml
    managed to progam it to open and lock the car using the new key however the car will turn over but wont start. then i imobiliser light comes on in the instrumental cluster.
    is thre another procedure to reprogram this? his original key is fine
    #1
  2. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Ras, you could try this Immobiliser

    I am changing my ECU so have got to do this myself.

    Simon
    #2
  3. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks mad kebab the original key is fine just the new key so i dont think he will need a new ecu.
    #3
  4. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    #4
  5. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    thnx madvw ill ask if he has the SKC i doubt it
    as he only the one 3 button flip and does not have the master key ,wallet key or the valet key
    #5
  6. FezzR
    Offline

    FezzR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep need the code, and the only way to aquire it is through Audi and they should never disclose it to the customer.
    #6
  7. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    When I bought my A4 in October it came with 3 of the flip-type keyfobs but only 2 would unlock/start the car.
    The third would unlock the car but caused the immobiliser light to wink at me when tried in the ignition.
    Biting the bullet my local Audi stealer relieved me of £44 and 30 minutes later had a fully-functioning 3rd key......
    I now with amusement read all those Ebay listings for secondhand keyfobs where the sellers say its a simple matter to re-programme the keyfob once bought......

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #7
  8. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    This write-up may help if you have VAGCOM.


    [ QUOTE ]

    Remote Matching

    Disclaimer - I am not responsible for any damages that may occur from this procedure. I am simply showing you what worked for me because the ross-tech web site did NOT work for me and didn't work a ton of other people. So here it goes...

    Have you received a new remote that you want to program to your car but find out that THIS ( http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/ca...e-matching.html ) didn’t help you out much?


    Remote Matching

    For this procedure, you must have
    1) VAG COM
    2) A laser cut key (just one is "needed")
    3) Up to 4 compatible remotes to program


    Procedure for matching remote controls to most VW & Audi vehicles:

    Under "Select Control Module"

    "Select"

    "46 - Cent. Conv." or "35 - Cent. Locking" (depending on year and make/model)

    "Adaptation - 10"

    First enter channel "00" as this will set all settings back to factory.

    Enter channel "01" (Again "21 depending on make/model).

    "Read"

    This is supposed to display the number of currently stored remotes in "Stored Value". But a lot of people actually get 0. Like I did...

    According to ross-tech, this is what you must do next which is the part that messes everyone up - "Enter your total number of keys up to a maximum of 4 (including any existing keys) in 'New Value.'" Do not do that. Instead, for your first remote just put in a one.

    "Test"

    Verify that the number in "Test Value" is the one you entered.

    Now this is another place that ross-tech tells you to do something that doesn't work... They tell you to hit the "Save" button, but what are you saving? Absolutely nothing!! Notice up at the top it should say something along the lines of "Key Adaptation." If it says this, you have 15 seconds to push the unlock button on your remote (hold for two seconds) or until it says, "Key learned." NOW is where you hit save.

    "Save"

    It should now ask if you are sure you want to save. Of course you do.

    The procedure also says right about now that the car will give you some kind of sign that the remote was learned such as a (lights flash, horn beep, etc.) but as long as the VAGCOM said "learned" it would be fine.

    But for remote number two pretty much follow the same above for number one. Now you actually have to put in 2 for test value, 3 in test value for the third and 4 for the fourth. I hope this makes scence. It seems like it will overwrite the last remote but it does not...

    Also, here is some helpful info for your programming... In order to find if your remote works with your car and you can use it, go to "Measuring Block" 006 - Go! and look at field 2... There should be four bits in this field (all 0000)... Hit a button on your remote, one of the bits should now change to a 1 depending on the button you hit! I don't know what measuring block it will be for the other cars... This procedure works 100% on my 2000 Audi TT and 2001 Audi A4. Will be testing others soon!!

    [/ QUOTE ]
    #8
  9. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers doc i dont have vag-com /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
    #9
  10. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    If you search hard and strong you can find a full version on the net for £0.00 like I did, then my laptop gave up the gost /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif thing.
    #10

Share This Page