1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacing the Audi In Car Entertainment

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Anito, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. Anito
    Offline

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 12, 2004]
    I'm thinking about changin the in-car stereo of my A4. I'll go for an non Audi option such as Apline / Sony / Kenwood. None of this will be a problem except for connecting the new system to the DIS. The person I have asked about this so far tells me you can't connect 3rd party systems to the DIS.

    Has anyone done this before? Can it be done? How?

    I've seen peoople on this forum supply diagrams befoe, does anyone have a wirig diagram on this subject?

    Cheers. <font color="blue"> </font>
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 12, 2004]
    I looked into this and I don't believe it can be done as the HU needs to have an appropriate output for it's display, which then has to be provided in the right format for the Audi display.
    #2
  4. Anito
    Offline

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 12, 2004]
    So have you changed yours? What did u do?
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 12, 2004]
    Yes changed mine for an Alpine HU in both my A4 and my wife's A3. The difference in quality is dramatic. Didn't even notice the lack of display on the DIS. A pretty pointless feature at the best of times anyway. How often do you need to see what radio station you are on?
    #4
  6. Anito
    Offline

    Anito Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 12, 2004]
    Interesting that you have fitted Alpine. I think i'll have the Alpine 838 in mine.

    I guess as long as the results in sound quality are better then no DIS isn't too much of a issue.

    Cheers.
    #5

Share This Page