1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

replacing rear lights on sportback

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by vw754, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Likes Received:
    23
    If i replace rear lights on sportback with ones off a 59 plate..led ones,what exactly do i need to get them working apart from vag-com,do i need wiring etc,etc?
    #1
  2. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    you'l need a control module also
    #2
  3. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999
    Likes Received:
    23
    is that all? where is this located exactly and does it matter if its off a car 3 years newer than mine? is the rest plug and play?
    #3
  4. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&#

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    You don't need a control module.

    All you need is the lights, vagcom and either a loom from kufatec or a rewire by yourself.
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Scottie is spot on, no need for module, just rewire or use a loom, if not comfortable with either then feel free to PM me as I have a few of these to do for people now rewiring
    #5
  6. c_w
    Offline

    c_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    62
    What coding is required in VAGCOM for the taillight update?
    #6
  7. Stampie
    Offline

    Stampie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to ask this question also - What coding is required for the update?
    #7
  8. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    45
    Its been covered before, but the coding tells the car not to show the bulbs as tail lights but to show the LED bar, plus the coding changes from one bulb each side for brake lights to two.
    #8
  9. Stampie
    Offline

    Stampie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done loads of searches but none actually explain what coding needs to be changed in Vagcom.
    Got lights - Looms ready to fit, but don't wanna fit them until I know what coding changes to make?
    #9
  10. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    45
    #10
  11. Stampie
    Offline

    Stampie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    #11

Share This Page