1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacing my s3 standard speakers

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ron burgandy, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. ron burgandy

    ron burgandy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi I have a 2011 s3 with audi symphony II with six cd stack with standard speakers and I have had a loan car with the sat nav and Bose system. It's sounds ten times than mine, how can I make mine sound that good ? Would I just have replace the speakers or put in an amp or would it be better to replace the speakers with another type of speakers like infinity?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. RobbieWebs

    RobbieWebs Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    247
    Ul need the amp and speakers to make it sound like that bud. Changing the speakers for after market u would notice a difference yes but for the clarity and thump u would need an amp. Have a look about eBay and such and u might get a Bose set :)
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    37
    You'd need the complete Bose wiring loom as well, not an easy job even if you can get one, whole system has to be rewired.
     
  5. Chris Coates

    Chris Coates Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    from experiences don't go BOSE have it in my Q3 and its total rubbish, my A3 i have a focal and Dyna Audio System, and its chalk and cheese , really was disappointed as its a $2200 bose option with 14 speakers and in my way of listening its rubish,
    that's my 20cents worth.
    B&O in the A5 very good on the other hand:)
     
  6. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    238
    Better with an aftermarket kit if you are prepared to go as far as replacing it with Bose

    I changed my Symphony in my A3 to Focal components, diamond sub and genesis amps = fantastic system, won me a few competitions too!

    I'd love to do a subtle system in my S3!
     
  7. whale

    whale Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    15
    Where did you place your amp Boydie?
     
  8. chris.vincent3

    chris.vincent3 Own a BMW now, HOWEVER I still own VCDS!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    34
    You still can. There is a guy that sells the stealth subwoofer on eBay for an 8L, when i bought my wooden speaker adaptors for my 8P to fit Vibe speakers in I asked if he could do a stealth subwoofer for the 8P and he said he can, comes with a JL sub if you like, or without.

    Check out his website..
    dizzythedog.com
     
  9. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    238
    I had the sub recessed in the tyre well and amps above and either side

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    What if you need to put things in there?
     
  11. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    238
    I was a student at the time and never had anything in the boot. If I had to put things in there I had a matt to go over the top of every thing
     
  12. Mikemc

    Mikemc Scooby Slayer
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    35
    A false boot floor would be an option
     

Share This Page