1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacing Bose amp with an aftermarket one

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Lyons, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    Folks, after the grief I've had recently with the Bose amp in my car I'm wondering if it can be replaced with an aftermarket amp.

    Does anyone know of any cases of people replacing the Bose amp with an aftermarket one, yet retaining the RNS and Bose speaker set up?

    I've trawled the internet and cant find anything similar. The closest I came across were a few guides where an additional amplifier has been integrated to the Bose system to run a sub.

    Does anyone know if its possible, or even if there are any adapters available?

    A replacement Bose amp is the guts of £700, so I'd rather get a cheaper more reliable aftermarket replacement if possible.

    Car is an 8J TT, but I would expect it would be the same idea in any Audi.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    Just find a used Bose amp, 8J0035223A or C or D are compatible.
    #2
  4. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    If it were that easy, I would. Sadly they are pretty much impossible to find!
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    #4
  6. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    F isn't Bose mate.
    #6
  8. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    Ok, thanks.

    Any idea if an amp from other Audi models would work, or would it be safer not risking it as they probably all have different speaker amounts and processer settings?
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    Stick to as advised :)
    #8
  10. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 25, 2013]
    Probably safer! I've emailed that seller to see if he'd split the set, I'll keep looking in the mean time. Thanks for the advice.

    Still keen to hear if the aftermarket route in an option too.
    #9
  11. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Jul 26, 2013]
    #10
  12. Lyons
    Offline

    Lyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 26, 2013]
    Its the "little wiring" that worries me.

    Have you actually done it? Simply removed the Bose amplifier and added an aftermarket one, no additional subs or speakers?

    I fitted the RNS this morning and everything appears to be back to normal so far (touch wood). The hissing, popping and poor sound have all disappeared. I cant understand how that could have been down to the head unit though? I thought all processers/settings etc went through the amp?
    #11
  13. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Jul 26, 2013]
    see my signature

    there is no standard audio in my car
    the little bit of wiring would require you to run a power cable from the battery down to wherever you wished to install the amplifier
    preferably you would want to fuse the wire no more than 18" from the battery and again just before it entered the amplifier

    you can pick the input signal up from the original loom which you dissconnect from the bose amplifier
    #12

Share This Page