1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacement Buttons/Swiches

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Madmike34, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. Madmike34
    Offline

    Madmike34 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 13, 2011]
    Previous owner had kids and they have picked at the window buttons, removed all the black stuff to leave scaby white buttons , same on the head unit numbers 1 2 3 4 5 6 , black picked off to leave a scaby white button.

    Can you get replacements, if so where and how easy to fit ?

    Cheers Mike
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Mike B
    Offline

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 13, 2011]
    This happens any as general wear and tear.Replacement is awkward and expensive if you have to buy the complete unit.I have tried cleaning and covering with black marker
    #2
  4. haytch75
    Offline

    haytch75 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 13, 2011]
    Black marker worked for me, depends how bad it is, and whether you're happy with a non show-car finish!
    #3
  5. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 13, 2011]
    window buttons = i may be able to help you out there mate, back ones? front ones?


    radio = new face if you can find one on ebay?
    #4
  6. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
  7. Madmike34
    Offline

    Madmike34 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    cheers mate , might try the felt tip pen job out see how it turns out
    #6
  8. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    lol, the felt tip job don't pan out to well as there are lights behind them and will look messy upon light up,
    #7
  9. scottshere
    Offline

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    On a similar topic,
    Can you replace the buttons on the aircon unit or is it a full unit change?

    Ive had the same as mike, button pickers
    #8
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    you can replace them if you can find any
    #9
  11. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    Aircon unit, like radio, you can swap over the button facia from a doner. I stripped both mine down do stop sticky buttons after the last owner spilt fizzy pop down the controls. I have a climate module somewhere around I'm putting in eBay soon if you need a doner.
    #10
  12. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    Do the swap over. You will notic the difference. Otherwise you may as well drive a fiat around.
    #11
  13. scottshere
    Offline

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    How much would you want for it ?

    Only need the minus button :)
    #12
  14. Scott_
    Offline

    Scott_ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    Sorry to hijack thread but can you get the light switch surround anywhere aswell??

    Thanks
    #13
  15. leigh258
    Offline

    leigh258 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    I have the same problem, havent managed to find any replacements at a resonable price, so on my passenger window switch i used a fine paint brush and painted them black... not the best finish but better than a white block! I've also read somewhere that you can take out the aircon buttons individually and spray them if you wanted to do that, just a case of masking symbols up to allow the red light to pass through.

    i did try taking off the passenger door card to remove the window switch but after attempting to remove it for 30 minutes and only managing to remove the screws i swiftly gave up with that idea.
    #14
  16. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
  17. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    It's a single din one I think without heated seat controls part code 8e0 820 043 AJ and it's 5pr soul black. I don't know what it's worth but it's from a b7 I think.
    #16
  18. scottshere
    Offline

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    Ok, i believe that it will be ok as i only want it as a donor for the button as mine is in excellent condition apart from 1 button

    The picker has also ruined the door panel that holds the 2 window switches gggrrrrrrr
    No idea where i can get one of those....

    Why do people sit and pick at these is beyond me (kids i can understand doing it)
    #17
  19. leigh258
    Offline

    leigh258 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    #18
  20. jayorme
    Offline

    jayorme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2011]
    My 2002 Audi A4 1.8T failed its MOT a few weeks back because the previous owner has painted the headlamp switch after the original paint had started to strip away.. Apparently its a failure as you cant see the fog light controls?!

    Cost me £76 from Audi to replace :-(
    #19
  21. Mike B
    Offline

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Oct 26, 2011]
    Why is this if fog lights are not obligatory or is it the rear which is
    #20
  22. leigh258
    Offline

    leigh258 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2011]
    Rear fogs are obligatory, front are optional but most newer cars have them on now anyways.
    #21

Share This Page