1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

replaceing coolant temp sensor????

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by dplovin, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    right ive got the old one out and the new one in place without the wire and clip in place yet.

    its in place now but doesnt feel very stable at all ? does it need to be right in or does it clip in place.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 30, 2015]

  3. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    engine?

    clip holds it in place but it should push home and feel sturdy
    #2
  4. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    1.8t engine mate i must just need to give it abit more force or is there a certain way it goes in
    #3
  5. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Im not sure on the 1.8t as mine is a TDI but on mine you have to give it a good old shove then attach the clip
    #4
  6. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    think ive sussed it derrrr!!! clip pusshes in around the housing and not the sensor itself, thing is ive gone a bust the clip now Grrrrrrr!!
    #5
  7. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Temp sensor replaced but still coming up with the fault code??? Thermostat stuck open next option?? Maybe water pump ???
    #6
  8. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,946
    Likes Received:
    497
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    What fault code is it giving you?
    #7
  9. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    17698 buddy
    #8
  10. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    Did you put a genuine VAG CTS in?
    #9
  11. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    #10
  12. dplovin
    Offline

    dplovin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    That will be my problem then I've replaced the top one. Are the sensors both different or the same???
    Yeah proper vag cts
    Cheers mate
    #11
  13. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Oct 13, 2012]
    Different, the lower sensor is a 2 pin.
    #12

Share This Page