1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Repair wire 000 979 009

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Brodster, Mar 20, 2012.

  1. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Hi all. Im just about enable coming home and leaving home lights without retro-fitting the auto-lights\wipers or auto-dimming mirrors.
    Im following the guide below and it states use repair wire 009 979 009......where can I acquire one of these (Audi dealer??) or can I make up my own.

    cominghomelights - Audi Retrofit
    #1
  2. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    You will need to get one from the Audi dealer. They are about £4.
    #2
  3. I oOEddOo I
    Offline

    I oOEddOo I Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Brodster when are you planning of doing this?? Once you done it tell me if it works :) I am planning of doing the same
    I have got mine today from autotecnic cost me £2 :S...
    I have also found out that this function is a modification according Audi......
    #3
  4. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Will do it once I get the repair wire. Popping up to the Audi garage this morning to get it. Will let you know if its successful
    #4
  5. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Got the repair wire, well 2 of them for just about £4, so away to do the mod this afternon seeing as its a glorious day here.
    #5
  6. sachen
    Offline

    sachen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Let us know how it goes.

    Just reserved one of these myself to collect on Saturday so I can enable the home coming lights. Cost me a massive £2.23!
    #6
  7. I oOEddOo I
    Offline

    I oOEddOo I Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Did it work alright brodster??
    #7
  8. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 27, 2012]
    Right then......No it didnt work. Easy to do though. I think I know what the problem is though but I need someone to verify. When fitting the repair wire into pin 12 do you need a special cable insertor as I think my cable isnt far enough down into the plug housing so therefore its not making the circuit. It was very tight to slide in (mmwwooaaahhhh) so I cut down a chopstick so as not to damage the wire and used that to push the wire further down. Rebuild and coding done but she no work.

    Any ideas.
    #8
  9. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 27, 2012]
    There has to be someone that knows this.........?????
    #9
  10. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    319
    [Mar 27, 2012]
    Mark,

    i had the same problem when fitting to my mates (v1raj) on here. at 1st it didnt work, then when i sat under the dash and pushed the wire up it worked and its stayed in place.

    so connect the plug back up then just push that wire and it will stay.

    also you can cut the repair wire in half and earth that and you will get 4 goes with 2 wires.

    Have you put the earth in the place it says?
    #10
  11. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    I'm also looking to do this at the weekend - there is quite a detailed thread on this forum called 'Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled'.

    Apparently you have to make the earth with the headlamp switch connected back up and then disconnect it as it works like a switch signal. Might be worth a try.
    #11
  12. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    I used a different earthing point............turn 90 degrees towards the front of the car from the bolt he used as the earth and you will see a metal plate. I used one of the mounting bolts from that. That way I could ty-wrap the wires nice n tidy and hide them behind the fuse box.
    #12
  13. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance in Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    836
    [Mar 28, 2012]
    Drove into the Audi garage this morning and lo and behold the mod is working. When I locked it lights came on for 20 secs which I had programmed and when unlocked they came on until the door was opened. No idea how that happened but it does work. I do have a more worrying little snag which I will start another thread for as not related.
    #13

Share This Page