1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

repair / replace LED screen for DIS?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by TeKnodriver, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 25, 2012]
    After putting up with a faulty DIS screen for the last year I'd like to get it working properly again.

    unit has some dead lines of pixels [not too fussed about this]
    but more annoyingly display is only visible when car is cold - after driving for 20 minutes the screen fades to nothing!

    so - are the instruction CDs on how to fix from ebay any use?

    otherwise, what can be done?

    car is '98 TDi and non-VDO dials [I think]

    Thanks all!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    The instructional CD's from eBay are useless and tell you to wedge a strip of cardboard across the ribbon cable to improve the connection, but it does feck all. Unless you are a surgeon with a hot air soldering iron, it's not a DIY job either.

    I had mine done (along with about 30 other guys) by a guy called Tektronics on eBay lsat year and wish I had done it years ago. Think you are looking at around £150 to get it done.
    #2
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,197
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    Don't do the cheap DIY fixes on ebay. they are pointless.
    Stump up the cash and pay the guy above or Cluster Repairs to do it.

    I got mine done by Cluster Repairs for about £140 with 5 year warranty, full service and repair.
    #3
  5. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 26, 2012]
    Hmmm... suddenly sounding pricey...

    forgot to mention the mileage display is missing some segments so I'd need that doing really too -
    would that be a separate unit to refurb or is that cost to service the whole clock assembly?
    #4
  6. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 7, 2012]
    another vote for Cluster Repairs. Done about three years ago now. Mine done in Great Yarmouth when I was in the area..... while I waited, took barely an hour , ( went and had coffee & cake Mrs kingfisher was in M&s Debenhams etc. so it was more than £150 in the end.... !! )
    #5

Share This Page