1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

removing service light

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by S4twiggy, Feb 28, 2010.

  1. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 28, 2010]
    next week i shall be doing a service on my car myself as funds are low. im just wondering how i remove the service reminder that comes up on the DIS, is it done with vagcom? do i need the rosstech vagcom to do it as i only have the demo version i think?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. DEEJAY TQS
    Offline

    DEEJAY TQS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2010]
    yeah id like to know this too, i found some instructions on the net to remove the service reminder but never worked, pull and hold speedo reset and turn key push this and that, what a load of tosh
    #2
  4. phoenixv6quattro
    Offline

    phoenixv6quattro staylowmovefast

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 1, 2010]
    Me too, as I have just changed the oil and my oil service light has just started flashing!
    #3
  5. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 1, 2010]
    the push this pull that instructions should work on 98ish on cars, but i always end up just altering clock when i try from memory

    vagcom
    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/cars/audi_sri.html

    you can adjust length of time aswell, my oil light is now set at 5k so its when i want to change oil not when audi say it should be done
    #4
  6. gavinsky23
    Offline

    gavinsky23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 1, 2010]
    Just to confirm though, do you need the full version of VAGCOM to do this or can it be done in the 'demo' version?
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 1, 2010]
    Yes the demo version will just scan and show the results, it doesn't allow you to actually do anything.
    The push pull technique definately works on B6 A4's but definately not on my 97 plate.
    #6
  8. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    i shall be getting rosstech vagcom soon then, just wish i had someone to teach me the ropes on it.
    #7
  9. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,718
    Likes Received:
    312
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    Grant, you should have mentioned it to Rob, he could have done it on VAGcom . Any facelift car should be able to be reset via the dash knobs. My 98 was dash resettable.
    #8
  10. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    I can't do mine the way it tells you in the book. Not sure if it's because mine is facelift with a digi clock?
    #9
  11. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,718
    Likes Received:
    312
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    Hmmm I am sure there is a date from which service lights/displays can be end user reset.

    Mine reset via the knobs, it must be because i have a half baked facelift car,lol
    #10
  12. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    Mine is only on a v plate so you would think it would be more likley to have the analouge clock. I need to get a vag com lead as it flashes up service every time I start it now.
    #11
  13. phoenixv6quattro
    Offline

    phoenixv6quattro staylowmovefast

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    So how do you reset it manually via the buttons/knobs? Mine is a late 98 so I would like to give it a go, but don't know how? I havn't got the manual (if it explains it in there?)......
    #12
  14. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,718
    Likes Received:
    312
  15. phoenixv6quattro
    Offline

    phoenixv6quattro staylowmovefast

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 2, 2010]
    Thankyou you very much my good man!-Will try tomorrow on my pre-facelift and report......
    #14
  16. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    i reckon it would be at the same point they switched to immo 2 and got new clusters post 98ish

    not sure about the later digi clock ones though
    #15
  17. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,787
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    immo2 didnt happen until mid 99

    97-99 cars still have immo1, its just integrated into the dash cluster rather than a seperate box.
    #16
  18. phoenixv6quattro
    Offline

    phoenixv6quattro staylowmovefast

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    IT WORKED!!! And as mentioned mine is a late 1998.....Thanks again fellas!
    #17
  19. S4twiggy
    Offline

    S4twiggy Fully Certified Detailer!!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    forgot to mention it mate, only realised when i got home and saw my service stuff ready for me to do it on the weekend.
    #18
  20. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    think your wrong on this one although my point is 'if your immo is built into cluster then you can reset service reminders'

    all the pre 98 cars with seperate box ive coded have needed a new write once only megamos 13 transponder

    the post 98 ones use a crypto 48 transponder and are reuseable so must be a different immobiliser?
    #19
  21. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,787
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Mar 3, 2010]
    Ye, they changed to variable code transponders, but its still immo1.

    The details are in ETKA, it mentioned "fixed code" and "variable code" transponders under the immo1 section, and says immo2 comes in mid 99 and immo3 comes in mid 00.
    #20

Share This Page