1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Removing a g65 pressure sensor?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ItsAllGood, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    I had my econ light up constantly for about 5 months. Today i filled ac gass to the ac. Econ still lights up. They said i need to replace the g65 sensor located besides the raditor cooling fans. I have found plenty of sensors on ebay, but how do i remove the sensor itself from the pipes? Will the pressure escape from the system too? Or do i have to be charched another £100 to reill the gass? Thanks :)
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Its a 54 1.6 FSI btw.
     
  4. dandav1985

    dandav1985 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    68
    I would not remove the sensor myself as you would be releasing refrigerant gas into the atmosphere..........I would have the gas reclaimed then change out the pressure sensor........ Also £100 for a regas is very expensive ! I dont like kwik fit but they only do regas for £50......some places as cheep at £40.

    Cheers Dan
     
  5. pluves1

    pluves1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    133
    Audi are only charging £79 for an aircon service so £100 seems a little expensive.

    Air conditioning service offer < Regular maintenance < Servicing and MOT < Owners Area < Audi

    The G65 sensor is normally on the aircon piping and to the right of the radiator. I believe you'll need to drain the system down to fit the sensor.
     
  6. SmithyAG

    SmithyAG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    61
    Doesn't the sensor fit onto a schrader valve? Meaning that when you removed the sensor the refrigerant stays in the system?
     
  7. RustyBucket

    RustyBucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    75
    I had to replace this sensor on my RS6 and the above was correct. I was able to remove the sensor without the refrigerant leaking out so I'd have thought it's the same.
     
  8. chilly

    chilly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    20
    Lol Plenty of Experts!

    Definition of an Expert ex = has been, spurt= drip under pressure.

    Take it to a fully qualified engineer who is experienced in this field - don't attempt it yourself as there is more to the system dynamics than clearly you and these guys know! (sorry to be blunt)

    Do it right do it once!

    Chilly

    ps kwik fit are not experts!
     
  9. RustyBucket

    RustyBucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    75
    Helpful comments is what forums are all about........

    There's a good thread here if you're interested in having a crack yourself and saving some dosh How To Change the G65 Aircon Thrust/Pressure Sensor

    It confirms the sensor is a common unit with the valve so coolant won't leak out. Good luck with it.
     
    #8 RustyBucket, Jun 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2014
    wuta3 and SmithyAG like this.
  10. SmithyAG

    SmithyAG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    61
    Couldn't agree more rusty.

    Shame some people resort to incorrectly chopping up a word in an attempt to make an insult work.
     
    Andy021 and Moffat like this.
  11. dandav1985

    dandav1985 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    68
     
  12. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for all the replies guys! First off, I live in norway :) asnet is a british forum so you will think im from gb too. Here in my country a normal ac service (just refill) will cost about 160 british pounds. Thats normal here. I found a local doing it for just 100 pounds. Cheap eh?
    I will try doing this myself first. I got a quote on a new g65 sensor from my local audi for £102. Finding a sensor on ebay for £20 was a bargain for me. I asked first if it was a hard diy hence why i asked how to remove tve sensor itself. I havent looked at the link rusty gave me (link not working). But pulling out the sensor will not make the gass escape. So i save a refill. Before i order a new g65 i must insure that i have the correct partnr. Audi said:1k0959126e
    I cant trust them. Forum around here seem to have more knowlage than audi itself :p
    Im just a student wanting to pay as low as possible. If diy is easy enough. I will do it myself. I also like to get my hands dirty
     
  13. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    [​IMG]

    Remove the sensor. Which was darn easy. Tok 2 mins with a 17 mm. Anyways. The sensor it self looked pretty code to me. No corotion or any signs of broken things! Should i still order a new one?
     
  14. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    The part number of the sensor that i took of was a 1j0 and didnt have the e or 1k0 at the end. Possibly a remake of the old one?
     
    #13 ItsAllGood, Jun 7, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2014
  15. RustyBucket

    RustyBucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yes, mine was the same, looked fine from the outside but knackered, new one sorted the problem. Not sure about the part number number as I've sold that car with all the paper work.
     
  16. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Okay thanks. Will have confidence buying a new sensor. Also checked the plug that connects to the sensor. Gave me values. So I guess its nothing to do with the connector
     
  17. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    So what to buy the one that came from my car, or this? [​IMG]
    Need opinions, thanks :)
     
  18. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Bought this and fitted to the car. Still not working. Unplugged the battery, going to wait for 10 minutes
     
  19. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Still not working after disconnecting the battery for 20 min.. Probably clearing the g65 code?
     
  20. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Gold Supporter Audi S3 Audi Main Dealer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,497
    Likes Received:
    952
    The system will probably remain inactive until the fault is cleared as it may still think there's a problem - even though it's potentially fixed.

    Otherwise the fault may be elsewhere.

    Just log the old details before you clear them so you have all the information to go by if it's still in-operative.
     
  21. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ye thats why i disconnected the battery so it will clear the codes. Maybe i have to do it with the pc?
    The garage scanned my car and only had a g65 code. So i replaced it. I will take a drive their tomorrow or so :) thanks
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Gold Supporter Audi S3 Audi Main Dealer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,497
    Likes Received:
    952
    Disconnecting the battery will not necessarily clear codes and Infact usually doesn't.

    You could try a hard reset, take both cables off the battery, link together with a metal bar for 30 mins.

    Better to just clear the codes, doesn't take 2 seconds.

    What area are you from? Someone who is close on here maybe able to help for beer tokens or for out of pure love. :)
     
  24. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Opps sorry for late reply. I live in norway. Got into a garage and the g65 code is gone! BUT air quality sensor is active. Where can i find that sensor?
     
  25. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Found the sensor. Cleaned it with maf cleaner. But problem still there
     
  26. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    *sigh*.. I am loosing hope.
    I am looking at the two fans on the front of the car. While engine is running and hvac at LO and max blowing. None of the fans are spinning. I hooked up vag-com and did an output test for the fans. The big fan is the only one that is spinning. But the other small one, right besides that fan is not spinning at all... Is there a way to check if the actual fan is working?

    Getting desperate, temperature here is rising and i am sweating my balls off

    I can see sending my car to audi. They are probably going to charge me alot!
     
    #24 ItsAllGood, Jun 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2014
  27. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can a g238 air quality sensor fault cause a stuck ECON?
     
  28. Gaz-M

    Gaz-M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    Also interested in ideas as i have Econ stuck on aswell. I seem to have no fault codes though!
     
  29. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Same page as you my friend, im stuck...
     
  30. Rideen

    Rideen Sport Mode
    Audi A3

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    73
    Guys, check your air compressors.
     
  31. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Anyway to check if this is working? Econ on means compressor off. And vice versa. But then again, maybe its dead..
     
  32. MEddy78

    MEddy78 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    My Econ light is on too!

    I took it to my mates garage, he plugged in his laptop can't remember if it showed any codes :keule: I don't think it did ..... He put it down to the system having no pressure! The car was gassed the machine reported 'no leaks' all great until the AC was selected the moment it started to run a loud hissing noise was heard - it was the gas leaking out from the pressure switch!
    He reclaimed the refrigerant and order me a new switch to be fitted next weekend.

    A bit more went on but thats the cut down version, probably no help but just my encounter! :undwech:
     
  33. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Common fault those switches...Give me a feedback when you have installed the new one!
     
  34. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Tested my compressor bt jumping the wires to the 12v battery. Heard the clutch "click" and while engine was running and compressor had constant power i got cold air. What now. Econ still stuck..
     
  35. Gaz-M

    Gaz-M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    Suppose thats good news as it shows everything is actually working, it surely must be a sensor or the control panel? Did you re-gas? Not as simple as too low pressure?
     
  36. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am having second thoughts about the control panel. And too low gas (maybe the garage didn't fill enough gas).
    My in-law is saying it may be the control panel, as everything is working as is (ex audi employee). Or relays. Hard to say, but i booked my car to taking it to a garage. But i have to wait 20 days for them to be available -.-
     
  37. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yup, tried fixing the ac today. And all the gas just vanished from the system. This happend when i plugged the compressor to a 12v then 10 seconds wooooossshsh. I think i have a leakage. So now, i'll just have to wait and give my car to the garage
     
  38. MEddy78

    MEddy78 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    6
    Lucky for me it was just a new pressure switch required to solve my AC issues (ECON light stuck on) new sensor fitted, codes cleared, system re-gas now it's a cold as penguins feet!
     
  39. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,434
    Likes Received:
    677
    I too had this problem a couple months back, had the ECON light on over winter which didn't bother me but a month back we started getting Sun in England (not sure how that happened) so i got the aircon regassed but still no fix. Scanned the car with VCDS which showed G65 error.
    My pressure sensor had seized and it wouldn't come off the car so resulted in going to a aircon specialist who managed to get it off and replace it... all working fine now :)
     
  40. Andy021

    Andy021 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    here is my faulty sensor and quite possibly the problem (sarcasm) :blush:
    you can take it off without losing refrigerant as there is a valve that it connects to
    20140803_190915.jpg 20140803_190844.jpg
     
  41. ItsAllGood

    ItsAllGood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    8
    That sensor looked more advanced than i thought! Thanks for the share
     
  42. Andy021

    Andy021 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    no problem ps I also had a leak at the bottom of the condenser, its holding pressure now.....I sprayed leak detection fluid all over the pipework joints until I saw the bubbles. 20140803_152019.jpg

    good luck with your fix Henrik
     

Share This Page