removing a dump valve - what do I need to know

hooley

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here.

Just acquired a silver 3dr 1.8TQ that has had a few 'dubious' modifications.
I want to return the thing closer to standard and run it as a sleeper - fast but no-one would know it.

So the current mods are:
K&N Air Filter (4 months old)
Scorpion Cat-back exhaust (4 months old)
18-inch Khan RSC Alloys (5 months old)
Tinted windows
And the final nail in the coffin - a nice LOUD Dump Valve. - or not so nice IMHO

What I want to do is:
Remove dump valve - HERE IS WHERE YOU ALL HELP - I know these things are spliced into the main feeder pipe from turbo to inlet, so would need one of these pipes. Also block off where the control vacuum is spliced in - but is there any other changes that would have been made in the insertion of this thing? Has anything important been removed to add this thing?? Will removeal knacker the turbo if I forget something important???

Also next few mods/de-modification is to restore the air filter with an S3 airbox and filter, Replace the 18-inch Khans with RS6 18-inchers, and possibly add an S3 back box to give me a more reasonable tone to the exhaust (I used to have a scooby, and that was an exhaust note worth hearing - this on is not as I will do quite a lot of motorway miles).
Maybe even get out the heat-gun and remove the tinted windows - they are a mid-tint, so not too offensive.

So- over to your collected knowledge on the matter......

Also if anyone is interested in the old parts about to be removed, let me know.

Cheers
Jas

Hello and welcome!

Removing the Dump Valve should just be a case of pulling three pipes off it, two larger ones at the sides and one smaller on the top. After this you should just be able to put the standard or a recirculating DV back on.

For the others you'll need to source the original parts and it's basically a straight swap.

Don't want to sound rude but why didn't you just buy a standard example?