1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote windows

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Keifling, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. Keifling
    Offline

    Keifling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    Hi All,

    Now I know you can remotely close all the windows with the fob, but seems like they cant be remotely opened ( like on my 1 series).
    Am I missing something?

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    Who wants them opening when you sit on the keys or the kid plays with them, nice wet seats or missing items.
    #2
  4. dbm
    Offline

    dbm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    My 8L and 8P both had / have this feature. Just press and hold the 'open' button for about 5 seconds to start the process.

    You might have to enable it using the DIS first.
    #3
  5. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    256
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    One thing I've noticed, both with the 8P and 8V, is that sometimes pressing and holding the unlock button when the car is locked doesn't work - it merely unlocks the car. You then have to release and re-press and hold the button a second time to get the windows to open, after a brief pause of course.

    Sometimes it will unlock the car and open the windows in a single press but it's rare.
    #4
  6. constvoid
    Offline

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 27, 2013]
    Have you got unlocking set to only unlock the driver's door on the first press; press again to unlock all doors? In that case it's possible that you have to press twice and hold on the second to open the windows.
    #5
  7. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    256
    [Jul 28, 2013]
    Nope, can't stand that option. Thankfully you can control it yourself on the 8V but on the 8P it required a dealer visit or VCDS. I remember specifically telling the leas company to disable it before my last 8P was delivered and it was still enabled when I collected it so I told the dealer to disable it pronto before I departed.

    Every now and then I get a loaner with the stupid two-stage unlocking enabled and it drives me INSANE!!
    #6
  8. markjames
    Offline

    markjames Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Jul 29, 2013]
    It's a setting in the MMI, somewhere under the Car menu. I enabled mine for both up and down yesterday, as its useful for me
    #7

Share This Page