1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote windows

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Keifling, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. Keifling

    Keifling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Now I know you can remotely close all the windows with the fob, but seems like they cant be remotely opened ( like on my 1 series).
    Am I missing something?

    cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,041
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Who wants them opening when you sit on the keys or the kid plays with them, nice wet seats or missing items.
     
  4. dbm

    dbm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    151
    My 8L and 8P both had / have this feature. Just press and hold the 'open' button for about 5 seconds to start the process.

    You might have to enable it using the DIS first.
     
  5. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    468
    One thing I've noticed, both with the 8P and 8V, is that sometimes pressing and holding the unlock button when the car is locked doesn't work - it merely unlocks the car. You then have to release and re-press and hold the button a second time to get the windows to open, after a brief pause of course.

    Sometimes it will unlock the car and open the windows in a single press but it's rare.
     
  6. constvoid

    constvoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    29
    Have you got unlocking set to only unlock the driver's door on the first press; press again to unlock all doors? In that case it's possible that you have to press twice and hold on the second to open the windows.
     
  7. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    468
    Nope, can't stand that option. Thankfully you can control it yourself on the 8V but on the 8P it required a dealer visit or VCDS. I remember specifically telling the leas company to disable it before my last 8P was delivered and it was still enabled when I collected it so I told the dealer to disable it pronto before I departed.

    Every now and then I get a loaner with the stupid two-stage unlocking enabled and it drives me INSANE!!
     
  8. markjames

    markjames Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    26
    It's a setting in the MMI, somewhere under the Car menu. I enabled mine for both up and down yesterday, as its useful for me
     

Share This Page