1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote turbo 3.2

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Kaibo, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Kaibo

    Kaibo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    14
    Was wondering if this was feasible, losing the back box in place of a turbo, would there be room to run a boost pipe back to the tb?
    Also what boost would be safe without lowering compression?

    Kai
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    You want to mount a turbo.....at the back of the car ?

    It would need so much piping, it probably wouldnt be worth it. The more pipe, the more volume a turbo has to pressurise. It would lead to lag / response issues.

    Not even sure it could work off exhaust pressure at the end of the system? Then you need to pipe it to an intercooler, then back to the inlet.
     
  4. Todd1983

    Todd1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've seen it done in jap world with great effect, will try get the pics

    How's this twin turbo'd Lexus ISF for starters ;)
    [​IMG]

    Or e46 BMW
    http://www.controlsa.co.za/
     
    #3 Todd1983, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    i say do it
     
  6. Sidhu88

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    75
    Why remote mount it when it can be mounted in the engine bay?
     
  7. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    6
    That Lexus is very practical. With airfilters under the car. Engines like water in the inlet right ? :p But it clearly can be done. So must be something to stop this.
     
  8. Kaibo

    Kaibo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    14
    The reason to remote and not just locate in the bay, well a few reasons, not having to change manifolds, not sticking a hot turbo in an already compact bay, this should be a lot cheaper to do is the main reason.
    I looked into this with my last v6 car but killed it before it went anywhere, I know the principle works, just unsure of space for running pipes etc

    Kai
     
  9. Sidhu88

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    75
    I've seen this done before too. Theres a company called currency motors who run a rear mounted twin turbo kit for the E60 m5 which pushes 800hp. Anyhow, i could go into detail about y i think its a bad idea but the best thing i can say to u is to research into it properly and u'll soon realise that an engine bay turbo kit is the best way forward. Check out a company called vr6 specialists in holland, they do a turbo kit for the 3.2 vr6 engines in the audi and vw.
     

Share This Page