1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote Roof

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by A4 steve, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. A4 steve
    Offline

    A4 steve New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Hi

    I am a complete newby, just got my A4 Cabriolet. Most annoying thing is having to hold down the roof button until it is down. Has anyone had a remote roof fitted to the B8 (i guess that is what i have):crying:

    I have loads of questions SD cards, NAV versions, MMI version, TV modules and more??????

    Any help for this sad newby would be gratefully received.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. pjmspeedy
    Offline

    pjmspeedy Dude, what's mine say ?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    What year is your car as they didn't make a B8 Cabriolet and you have posted in the B6 section.

    If it's 06 or newer then you have a B7. PM "1wheelonly" as he'll send you a video of his working from his key. Very smart

    What's your other questions ?
    #2
  4. A4 steve
    Offline

    A4 steve New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Thanks for the reply.

    I have the 2009 model...guess that makes me a B7 (need to move posts) :)

    Seen lots of posts but not managed to find a clear answer to the SD card situation. would like to use more than just a 2gb SD (2gb is the only one available in nonHC)
    is there an upgrade i need to have done? believe i have ver 0650???

    Is there a disk available for safety cameras?

    If i wanted the voice commands, is this just a simple module install, and similar with the TV???

    Thanks for the info on the remote roof, i will PM 1wheelonly.
    #3
  5. itsmeagain
    Offline

    itsmeagain 1.8T Sport Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    To enable the remote roof, you need to purchase a roof module. There are 2 types: one is called smartop and its about £300 to buy. The other is kufatec and its about £150-250. Some lucky people on here have managed to find them cheaper on ebay. Most people dont bother with the tv, they just fit a dvd player. The voice control option is quite easy, you need a mfsw first. the best person to speak to is 1wheelonly.
    #4
  6. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    you can get a cheaper module that allows you to open/close the roof by just pressing the button once. they are around 70 euros from ebay.de seller is www.cabrio-module.de and he speaks great english!!
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
    #5
  7. itsmeagain
    Offline

    itsmeagain 1.8T Sport Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    Do you know anyone who has ordered one?
    #6
  8. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 1, 2010]
    I very nearly did! If you look on ebay.de for A4 verdeck-module you will get them cheaper than direct from his site. He's got 100% feedback and does them for just about every soft top on the market. I'll get you a link in a bit as I thin k I've got him saved as a fave seller.....

    EDIT:

    here u go...

    http://cgi.ebay.de/Audi-A4-Audi-80-...Item&pt=Autoteile_Zubehör&hash=item1e5c3cc860


    44.90 euro's and if i remember correctly postage is 6.90 euro

    you can mail him direct in english if your german is rubbish!!

    mark
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
    #7
  9. A4 steve
    Offline

    A4 steve New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    Thanks for the info. Shame i cant read German :laugh:
    Will certainly give the guy a call. Hope the instructions are in English.

    Does anyone have anyone have any info on the SD card issue. I want to be able to use bigger cards than the 2gb non HC cards that are available?
    #8
  10. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    I bought the Smartop which I am very pleased with. Great product and easy to fit. Only tricky bit was getting rear door trim on and off. More expensive than some others already mentioned but there are programmable options to suit your requirements. Would recommend.
    #9
  11. itsmeagain
    Offline

    itsmeagain 1.8T Sport Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    How much did you pay for the smartop?
    #10
  12. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    i could see why that would be tricky, ive been looking for my rear door on my cab all day, and still not found it !! lmfao
    #11
  13. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    Lol. Perhaps should have said rear of door trim. Actually thinking about it i'm not sure how to describe it. Maybe offside rear passenger side panel. That's better.
    #12
  14. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 2, 2010]

    Just copy and paste it into google translator ;) and yes, the instruction come in english!

    Re the sd cards, i think you can get away with 4gb non hc if you can find them but its not all about card compatibilty its about how much info the unit can process from whats on the card which 20 odd albums on a 2gig is pretty much its limit anyway so even if it could cope with a 32gb hc card it couldn't handle all the data on it anyway.. remember that these units are running on 8 year old technology bar a few firmware updates....
    #13
  15. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 2, 2010]
    Ask 1wheel how much he paid for his........jammy git lol
    #14

Share This Page