1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote control

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by freddie 5, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. freddie 5
    Offline

    freddie 5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 4, 2011]
    Hi there,

    Here is a problem for you, I have a A4 Avant, 98 plate that has the old alarm system installed, without the battery back up. The problem I have now is with the remote control for the central locking. It does not appear to be original to the car. It has stpooed working, tried new batteries, no joy. An ideas on how to reprogramme it to wortk. Here is a picture.

    Thanks

    [​IMG]o be an original.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,209
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    [Apr 4, 2011]
    Not a clue.
    I'd be tempted to rip it out and fit the original unit back.
    #2
  4. freddie 5
    Offline

    freddie 5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 5, 2011]
    only problem is, i dont have original unit. and not sure where it would be on car,only had car 3 months, this alarm has caused me sevderal problems in past few weeks. sods law.
    #3
  5. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,209
    Likes Received:
    1,032
    [Apr 5, 2011]
    The pump is in the boot on the right hand side, behind the removable panel.
    It looks something like this
    [​IMG]

    Does your central locking work via the key?
    #4
  6. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    210
    [Apr 5, 2011]
    R-Click is a common add on for these cars. Buy a new system from E Bay for about £35 and you also get a flip style key. (which will need cutting)
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,804
    Likes Received:
    343
    [Apr 5, 2011]
    It probably wont have an an "original" remote locking fob, hence the add on.

    As above, i'd just buy a new kit and swap it over.
    #6
  8. freddie 5
    Offline

    freddie 5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 6, 2011]
    this is bizarre, remote control is now working, dont know what happened, but all ok now. thanks for your help guys
    #7

Share This Page