1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remap help!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by bigpapasmurf, Jul 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,543
    Likes Received:
    788
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    its not that... you can read revo... not that its usable afterwards for those who think, free remaps lol

    i suspect his flash tool is getting wiggy, whatever tool is being used.

    and yea, why read it??? flash it stock or remapped whatever is agree'd with customer and be done with it..

    As is patently obvious in this thread there are several people (companies) who are able to sort it for the guy if required.
    #41
  2. brasiliangringo
    Offline

    brasiliangringo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    That's a reasonable point and assuming it hasn't had tons of previous owners may be possible to validate.
    #42
  3. Carl.S
    Offline

    Carl.S Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 28, 2012]
    Hi nicollow;

    If you contact me in the office on 01327 301 901 I will see what I can do for you, this thread has got quite far off topic, call me and i will help you come to some kind of resolve based on your personal preference.

    on to the topic of us "locking" ECU's with trial codes, no truth in it at ALL, here are the facts for you all:
    • yes we do block readout, the reason we do this is to stop people stealing out tuning and switching
    • flashing protocols are not blocked
    • to flash an ECU that has had trial code on all that is required is to flash the FULL (1MB in the case of the ME7 ECU) stock file
    • any tuner worth there salt will be able to do this through the diagnostic port, no requirement for ECU out or soldering! (I know tuners such as GIAC, unitronic etc can do this as well as ourselves)
    • once running a full stock code tuners with a data area tool (like byteshooter, CMD etc) will be able to read an write the data area
    • the reason small tuners have problems with trial code is because we modify the ENTIRE ECU (program area and data area) and to put it simply they do not have adequate tools to flash a FULL stock file
    so a quick example for you all with trial code;
    flash--> opt to go to other--> tuner flashes full stock code--> tuner can then modify now totally stock ECU.


    If anyone wants to discuss this further with me I am more than happy to chat on 01327 301 901
    I think that clears things up.


    Thanks for reading! :)
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
    #43
  4. Buzzer
    Offline

    Buzzer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Aug 28, 2012]
    4 weeks, lots of posts, good bad and the ugly of tuners and 1 email from revo!
    Sorted and happy days.
    #44
  5. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,325
    Likes Received:
    1,301
    [Aug 28, 2012]
    Glad its sorted.


    thread locked
    #45
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page