1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remap failed

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by Liquidfusion, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    So I brought my car into AMD Essex today to have my car remapped but they said the ECU was unreadable probably because the car is too new and they don't have the tools to remap it at the moment.
    Waiting for my £399.95 refund which will take 2-3 working days.

    My car is a A4 2013 1.8 TFSI 170.

    I am assuming AMD has done all they can to try to remap this, taking the ECU out and reprogramming it?
    Most remappers don't have my car on their database yet, however the only one I've come across which does is Elite Remaps.

    How is it possible Elite Remaps claim they can remap my car whereas such a big company like AMD cannot?
    Been a long tiring day waiting around for them to say they couldn't do it in the end.

    Any body know any other mappers that can remap my car?
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
    #1
  2. s3_trev
    Offline

    s3_trev Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    143
    Be patient. Is your car even a year old and your wanting it remapped already? Also there could be a chance when it came down to it Elite Ramps cant remap it either, could be an advertising thing. And if they can remap it, would you really want it done anyway? As you would more than likely be a guinea pig. Id hold on until AMD or some of the other reputable big boys come out with something, least then you can be sure it has been properly tested.
    #2
    Revo Steve-W and Liquidfusion like this.
  3. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    #3
    Liquidfusion likes this.
  4. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    True, I guess it's good they told me they couldn't remap it than say they did but actually didn't.
    The car isn't a slouch, but as I'm in the process of personalising the car I thought hey, why not? :)

    Still under a year old, will have to wait and see I guess.
    Waiting for Revo or AMD to release the maps, whichever comes first I'll go for.
    #4
    SI-W85 likes this.
  5. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2014
    #5
  6. SI-W85
    Offline

    SI-W85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    194
    Gutting mate bet you were fare looking forward to that too, be patient and enjoy what you got for now as when a remap is available you will notice it a lot more and enjoy it more too. Revo will prob be the first and they are definitely a good choice to go with.
    #6
    Revo Steve-W and Liquidfusion like this.
  7. matt.russell
    Offline

    matt.russell Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    29
    Arh unlucky mate! 170 is still pretty quick tho:D
    #7
    Liquidfusion likes this.
  8. SI-W85
    Offline

    SI-W85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    194
    I would always recommend going to a big enough company as if something goes wrong they will need to be able to fix it, when I was having mine mapped a pal of mine also was having his R32 stage 2 mapped and his ecu locked up half way through so they had to flash it but they said it was lucky it happened on them as there are only a very few people who could have fixed this otherwise the car wouldn't have been sorted there and then and the ecu would have had to be sent away.
    #8
    s3_trev likes this.
  9. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    124
    If you let me know the engine code, I'll tell you whether it can be remapped or not. R32 is ME7.1.1 and they have a habit of locking, I've had to fix a few that people have tried to map.

    Thanks, Rick
    #9
    Liquidfusion likes this.
  10. SI-W85
    Offline

    SI-W85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    194
    Really that's not good for these mobile remap guys if something goes wrong they be stuffed :/
    #10
    Revo Steve-W likes this.
  11. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Thanks

    It's: CJEB
    #11
  12. Spares
    Offline

    Spares Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15

    Quick ? My motorbike puts out more than that :)
    #12
  13. SI-W85
    Offline

    SI-W85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    194
    Think somebody woke up on the wrong side of the bed, mr big engine, because your 3.0tdi is so powerful???? haha
    #13
  14. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    124
    CJEB engine is Simos 12.1 ECU which can't be remapped yet unfortunately. This ECU can be currently be read and modified, but no way of getting back the modified software onto the ECU.

    Rick
    #14
    scotty76 and Liquidfusion like this.
  15. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Ahh balls..... Thanks for checking :crying:
    #15
  16. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2014
    #16
  17. Anthony566
    Offline

    Anthony566 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    74
    +1 for DTUK as a product and for service

    Everyone knows a tuning box is not as good as a full ecu tune but as the next best thing mine is spot on ... I am planning on doing a rolling road test at some point.

    When I got mine I did not believe a tuning box would work but my "Holly **** it works" response to Andrew said it all. I am very happy with my tuning box as I could not have an ecu map as my ecu is locked and was told that there was not a way without removing the ecu from the car to map it.
    #17
  18. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    55
    Ah ignore me, I think I will just wait for Revo or AMD :)
    #18
    Revo Steve-W likes this.

Share This Page