1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reg plate bulb help!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JD007F, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hi guys!

    I am looking to change the bulbs in the reg plate if that's possible to maybe a led bulb. I have done it on serval cars before but was wondering what Cambus bulbs I need on my Audi a3 11 plate.

    Many thanks james.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Tdp

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd personally go for the OEM led bulbs like on the new audis. There a little pricier but well worth it imo
    i had experiences with 'eBay special' bulbs and they either throw errors, last 5 minutes or are far too bright the OEM option gives a nice subtle white light
    i got mine from kufatec, and here's a link to them. LED number plate light - original Audi - 4H0 943 021 / 4H0 943022-39264
    dependant on the age of your car you may need the resistor loom too as some computers are a little more sensitive than others, mine went straight in to my 54 plate a3 with no errors
    hope this helps
    tom
     
  4. JRock247

    JRock247 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    45
    Drop T8ups a PM he's your best man for LED lights for your car!


     
  5. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    That's some cracking info buddy thank you! My a3 is a 11 plate so not sure weather that narrows it down about if the computer is more sensitive with mine or no!!

    I have seen that website before I have been liking fr parking sensors is this website all oem and would people use this website as they have quit a bit if stuff on there.

    Ill pm him is well thank u.
     
  6. Tdp

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem :) yes a lot of the products are genuine OEM. There quite helpful there! I use it for when I'm stuck for parts but on this forum there are plenty of members willing to help out :yum: as for the system in the car I think mine may be the less sensitive type but there are loads of posts on here about the number plate LEDs, just type that in the search bar and get stuck in mate
     
  7. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    Cool sounds like a plan thank you ill have a search around in a bit and hopefully purchase some!!

    Don't spose anyone has fr pictures of there I'm guessing if I search some should come up lol.
     
  8. Tdp

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea there's plenty bud
     
  9. leeds2592

    leeds2592 When I grow up, I want a 964!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    222
    The OEM LED numberplate bulbs were fine in my car without any errors but, from the info I've read, because your A3 is 2010+, you might get the dash error.

    Give the following thread a read, lots of info on this subject....
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...di-number-plate-leds-fit-a3-8p-plug-play.html

    And a thread with a possible solution if you want the OEM bulbs....
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...numberplate-lights-without-errors-2010-a.html

    Also believe that T8ups is working on some error free LED numberplate bulbs for 2010+ A3's so might be worth keeping an eye out for those.
     
  10. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    Oh rite I see that's not a problem ill have a read through that and take it from there bit of a shame if I can't bit it's not te end of the world lol.

    Thanks for the reply great help.

    James.
     
  11. Tdp

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll be able to its just a case that you may need the resistor loom as well as the lights
     
  12. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    Oh rite I see what sort of size are they sorry if asking loads of questions not up with all this only know a few basics lol.

    Cheers
     
  13. Tdp

    Tdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the resistor loom is only about 10 inches and fits behind your boot panel anyway. Not a very big item
     
  14. JD007F

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    22
    Oh rite not to bad then. I wetter give t8ups a pm and see what e has to say and what he could do for me.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page