1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recoding Key?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Phantom_A4, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. Phantom_A4

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, I replaced my key fob battery at the weekend and the remote lock/unlock doesn't seem to work anymore. I have tried the advice in the manual and it doesn't seem to work also have a spare in the ignition (on), locking the car manually with the key and pressing lock and the same for unlocking, but also doesn't seem to work.

    I am hoping that I won't need to go to Audi as it was just a battery change, so if anyone has any tips I'd really appreciate it. :)
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    646
    use key you need to sync
    turn igg on so dash lights are on
    press lock unlock
    remove key then try
    should be synced
     
  4. Phantom_A4

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Bez, unforunately that hasn't worked for me though, the red light on he fob is flashing as well. Very odd.... :/
     
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    646
    strange
    did it work b4 ?
    does it start the car ?
     
  6. sewell10

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    11
    start the engine press to lock or unlock button about six times turn engine off hope it works fella
     
  7. Phantom_A4

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately nothin has worked so far, I am going to bite the bullet and take it to Audi. Will let you know what they do and the procedure they had to follow, thanks very much for your help though. :)
     
  8. sewell10

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    11
    change the battery mate and then recode it happened to me would not code in till i changed the battery
     
    Phantom_A4 likes this.
  9. Phantom_A4

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    I disconnected the battery for about 10 mins and retryed your method, worked perfectly fine after that! - Thanks very much for your help :)
     
  10. sewell10

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    11
    pleased u got it sorted mate
     
  11. wallace78

    wallace78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    i hav the same prob with mine do u diconect the cars battery???
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,116
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Have you tried the sync method suggested?

    Changed battery?
     

Share This Page