1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recoding Key?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Phantom_A4, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. Phantom_A4
    Offline

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    Hi guys, I replaced my key fob battery at the weekend and the remote lock/unlock doesn't seem to work anymore. I have tried the advice in the manual and it doesn't seem to work also have a spare in the ignition (on), locking the car manually with the key and pressing lock and the same for unlocking, but also doesn't seem to work.

    I am hoping that I won't need to go to Audi as it was just a battery change, so if anyone has any tips I'd really appreciate it. :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    use key you need to sync
    turn igg on so dash lights are on
    press lock unlock
    remove key then try
    should be synced
    #2
  4. Phantom_A4
    Offline

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    Thanks Bez, unforunately that hasn't worked for me though, the red light on he fob is flashing as well. Very odd.... :/
    #3
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    502
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    strange
    did it work b4 ?
    does it start the car ?
    #4
  6. sewell10
    Offline

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 15, 2011]
    start the engine press to lock or unlock button about six times turn engine off hope it works fella
    #5
  7. Phantom_A4
    Offline

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    Unfortunately nothin has worked so far, I am going to bite the bullet and take it to Audi. Will let you know what they do and the procedure they had to follow, thanks very much for your help though. :)
    #6
  8. sewell10
    Offline

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    change the battery mate and then recode it happened to me would not code in till i changed the battery
    #7
    Phantom_A4 likes this.
  9. Phantom_A4
    Offline

    Phantom_A4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 18, 2011]
    I disconnected the battery for about 10 mins and retryed your method, worked perfectly fine after that! - Thanks very much for your help :)
    #8
  10. sewell10
    Offline

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 19, 2011]
    pleased u got it sorted mate
    #9
  11. wallace78
    Offline

    wallace78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 15, 2012]
    i hav the same prob with mine do u diconect the cars battery???
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Have you tried the sync method suggested?

    Changed battery?
    #11

Share This Page