1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rear view reverse camera to replace one number plate light! Any experience?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A3SBQ, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi all.

    I am thinking on installing a rear view camera. I have found a plug in type that exchange one of the number plate lights.
    See link from ebay.

    CCD REVERSE CAMERA AUDI A3 A4 A5 A6 A6L A8 Q7 S4 RS4 S5 | eBay

    Does any now the quality of such a camera?
    I have RNS-E, can it be programmed to automaticaly switch over the screen to video automatically when I enter the reverse gear?

    Thanks for looking.

    J
     
    #1 A3SBQ, Dec 9, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,129
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    You mean number plate lights not reverse lights lol.

    You'd need a media adapter & wiring to make work, its not a plugplay solution.
     
  4. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi Nigel.

    Hehe. Thanks for the feedback. Yes you are so right. I meant the number plate lights.
    I was thinking of the reverse activation LOL

    But now that's sorted.

    This media adapter, is it just to hook it up and than code it?
    Witch media adapter do i need? Do I get more options with the media adapter?

    PS. How is it going with my parts? Did you get my email the other day?

    Thanks
     
  5. Brett Butler

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is it legal to only have one number plate light, if I recall it is a mot failure if they notworking?
     
  6. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    40
    The new unit has a light if i am not wrong. It is LED now.
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,129
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Brett longtime no see :)

    Sort your hesistation issue yet as Tim said they'd sorted & was a cracked head.

    Yeap Jo you're right mate, they come with integrated light on most now.
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,129
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    Jo my friend, no worries, we all make mistakes :)

    Well you will need to activate the rns switch to video via coding over canbus :)

    Well kufatec are expensive, I will check if I have any here left over if you like.

    Yes mate got your email, vcds is already put aside for you mate & I'm just waiting for the bloody paint shop to give me back 9 sensors, 5 mine, 4 yours lol, then I can ship your stuff mate, sorry for delays, but you know me, they will arrive soon enough :)

    Hope your well mate.

    Side note, Isabella walking, running, almost talking, its unreal how time has gone so quick since we discussed the mirrors huh.
     
  9. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    603
    i have that camera except not on an RNSE... the quality of hte camera is good. the LED light on it however is total ****E!
    it dies in about 2 weeks. i complained about the first one LED light dying and got a replacement sent out... that again died in 2 weeks. i want to open it up and look to replace the LED with a decent one but its a sealed unit and i hear its on the same board of the camera. :(

    here are some pics of it fitted on my car

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    MrWhItEwOlF likes this.
  10. A3SBQ

    A3SBQ A3 SportBack 2TFSI quattro DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi Ash.

    How does it work in the night/dark? Does it come with the IR option? Does the distance lines work?

    -Nigel: yes, please check what you have reg. the media adapter.

    J
     
  11. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    603
    LOL the pics above were all taken at night! so the image you can see with the distance lines is a night shot! in the day its very clear!
    when you say IR are you asking if its equipped with night vision? i know IR stands for infra red, but as far as i know the £15 camera does not have IR. but still a great camera

    the lines work perfectly but i already have OEM parking sensors so it also bleeps at me when i am too close so i dont really pay much attention to the lines on the screen. the lines however do not move/bend. it does not react to the steering wheel as the Lexus cameras do but then again the camera is not connected to the Canbus system in the car so i wouldnt expect it to.
    if you look properly (its hard to see in the pic) the red line is just above end/back of the rear bumper. the camera is angled in such a way that you can see the rear bumper in the image which IMO helps

    The camera becomes really handy for kerbs and parking spaces with white lines so that i know i am in the box without having to get out and check.
     
  12. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    mmmm.... LOL
     
  13. Brett Butler

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Nig, yes Hesitation probs sorted, the actual hesitation was 100% a revo software issue, (REV 9) putting REV 10 on it solved it, still have issues though, engine running too rich at idle, (engine light on) just cant be assed to do anything about it, car runs fine, I suspect it is a minor thing, or the plugs I am using are too cold.
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,129
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    I'm confused mate as Tim said you had a hairline crack in the head, was this not the case then?

    So with Revo disabled, does it still run rich & light on?
     
  15. Brett Butler

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    8
    will explain in a pm, not wanna drag this thread off on a tangent :(
     
  16. FaisalFazeli

    FaisalFazeli Audi A3 S-Line 2.0 TDI 2011
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    how was the wiring? take a long time?
     
  17. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    i have the boot handle camera much better then the number plate one. and its more in the middle
     

    Attached Files:

    • 001.JPG
      001.JPG
      File size:
      1.1 MB
      Views:
      119
    • 002.JPG
      002.JPG
      File size:
      1.1 MB
      Views:
      116
    • 009.JPG
      009.JPG
      File size:
      1.2 MB
      Views:
      117
  18. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,261
    Likes Received:
    603
    Wiring on one of these isn't too hard, but that really depends on how good you are with stripping a car down. The hardest but is passing the video feed wire therough the boot hatch grommet into the car.
    Take a fair bit of time, around 2-3 hours all in to get a nice job
     
    FaisalFazeli likes this.
  19. FaisalFazeli

    FaisalFazeli Audi A3 S-Line 2.0 TDI 2011
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Would you have a link of these? Would this fit a 2011 3 door boot handle ?
     
  20. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
  21. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    i have got a new number plate cam for sale £10 plus delivery i bought first (never used)
    until i found the boot handle type
     

    Attached Files:

    • 011.JPG
      011.JPG
      File size:
      1.2 MB
      Views:
      120
    • 012.JPG
      012.JPG
      File size:
      1.2 MB
      Views:
      102
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the boot handle camera still operate the boot unlock switch ?. I know it sounds like a daft question, but on my 2011 8P when you use the boot handle it unlocks the boot. I assume it still works the same or is it solid plastic ?.

    Thanks
     
  24. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    yeah it works the same as factory, its just a smaller handle
     
    Wickedweasal likes this.
  25. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Excellent thanks for the reply I will order one up then.
     
  26. illogik

    illogik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Liking the boot handle install - very clean!

    Looking at the ebay listing, there is also the wireless module you can pick up separately...should make the install a snap.
     
  27. Wickedweasal

    Wickedweasal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Quick question where did you take the power feed for the camera? mine arrived and is installed and Itook a feed from the reversing light wiring but it seems very intermittent working, was not sure if the canbus affects the voltage in any way or I just have a bad joint.
     
  28. Bazzle

    Bazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    58
    Mine is in the handle as well. Couldn't get a stable pic from rev light power so I have it powered full time from a switched +ve off wiper motor.
    Just run a test lamp to the terminals until you find one switched with ign.

    Baz
     
  29. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    my power comes from my head unit, it powers up when reverse is selected
     
  30. Mike597

    Mike597 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
    Do you have a link to a supplier for these in handle cameras? This is next on my list of mods. Cheers
     
  31. a3 black

    a3 black Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mike597 likes this.
  32. Mike597

    Mike597 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    19
  33. Bazzle

    Bazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    58
    Power at the rear allows you to use wireless type as well.
    Not all camera leads have the power wires in them to run to the rear.
     

Share This Page