1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rear speakers nor working-new head unit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JPH04, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. JPH04

    JPH04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an after market stereo in my recently purchased 2001 A3.
    I have just realised the rear speakers dont work:uhm:
    After a quick search of the forum it looked like i needed a PC9-401.
    After finding one it says they are only suitable for Bose rear speakers.
    I don't think i have Bose rear speakers, but how can i tell?:keule:
    If not how can i get the rear speakers to work:sob:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. wagon

    wagon cock locked and ready to rock

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi mate, have a look in the boot, on the left hand side in a compartment you will have a sub enclosure.... if it has two small speaker grills then you will have the bose system.


    i had to get a pc9-401, cost £40 and to be honest ive just taken my after-market head unit out as the noise it made did my head in. pop's, whines everything.

    i brought a standard one off ebay...


    good times.
     
  4. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    66
    same problem here, want a standard one too, and have the sub located in the back, and my rears arnt working
     
  5. JPH04

    JPH04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've looked in the compartment, there is a sub, but it does not say BOSE anywhere:ohmy:
    the speakers don't say BOSE either:huh:
     
  6. reptor245

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    6
    One of these u mean

    [​IMG]


    Fitted one in mine and works fine. Got a 12" sub in the boot, rear speakers work, No popping and crackling and the Sony head unit fits flush. Must be down to bad installation m8.
    Also £40?? you was robbed. here look

    http://www.nexxia.co.uk/car_stereo_fitting_kits/Audi/A3.htm
    £19.56
     
  7. wagon

    wagon cock locked and ready to rock

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    um not sure mate, ive got an s3 with a full bose system....


    also it wasn't just a cable it was a big wired board of sorts.
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
  9. JPH04

    JPH04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok Andymac, i'll go with your selection.
    The sub only has one big speaker, so must be non bose:sob:
    Is it worth upgrading to bose speakers and sub? Along with everything else i'm planning to upgrade:greyrs4:
     
  10. reptor245

    reptor245 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    6
    http://www.nexxia.co.uk/car_stereo_fitting_kits/Audi/A3.htm
    PC9-404 £10.75

    Instal guide here too
    http://www.nexxia.co.uk/Installation_Advice/Audi_Harness_adaptors.htm

    When installing Car Stereo Fitting Kits for Non-Bose systems, using PC9-401, PC9-408 or PC9-409, the lead needs to be adapted to allow switching on of the original fitted Amplifier.
    All Audi's using these leads have active rear speakers, built into the speaker themselves. These adaptors convert the New head unit Speaker level output to line level output for the active speakers. These leads feed into the Red Mini ISO plug.
    [​IMG][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]
    The blue & White wire on the Red mini ISO plug also needs to be connected to the Blue wire coming off of the New Head Unit (marked Amp Remote). At the same time the blue wire on the PC5-90 adaptor also needs connecting to the Blue wire off the New Head Unit.[/FONT]​
    [FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]​
    [/FONT][​IMG][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]
    To do this cut the blue wire between the two Black ISO connectors half way along. Plug the blue & white lead supplied with the red crimp connector on the end into the bullet connector from the Red Mini ISO plug.[/FONT]​
    [FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]​
    [/FONT][​IMG][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]
    Cut the blue wire from the PC5-90 half way along. After stripping, feed both the blue from the PC5-90, and the blue coming from black ISO connector which will plug into the New head unit (not the car end) into the Red Crimp connector. Crimp the connector using proper crimping tool.[/FONT]​
    [FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]​
    [/FONT][​IMG][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]
    Once complete both the PC5-90 and Red & White wire on the mini ISO connector should be getting +12V from the new head unit.[/FONT]​
    [FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]​
    [/FONT][​IMG][FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]
    This will power the antenna adaptor and also signal the remote amplifier to switch on.[/FONT]​
    [FONT=Trebuchet MS, Arial, Helvetica]​
    Also note if your new head unit has RCA outputs with an output above 2.2v, you could use PC9-404 or PC9-410. Installation is the same as above accept the RCA connectors replace the speaker connectors.
    [/FONT]
     
  11. JPH04

    JPH04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    it works:rockwoot:thanks for the advice
    although i needed to swap memory and power leads:think:
    The next question is: Can i adjust the sub? I can't do it via the head unit.
    I have had a good look around the sub but can't see anything:ermm:
     
  12. alijames

    alijames Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page