1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rear parking sensor help

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Vex, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. Vex

    Vex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all, I have a little problem a few weeks ago my parking sensors failed to work, first I thought it was because of the winter and ice on them, but it wasn't, the left one sensors is dead, so I ordered a new one and replaced it, but still the car sends a error, does anybody know what's the problem? thanks
     
  2. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3 Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,747
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Hi, my friend Khufu has parking sensors fitted to his Audi A3, you could try asking him, he will most likely be able to help you out. He is on here most days, but if not im sure someone else will be along to help.
     
  3. Sarah's A3

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    29
    Have you cleaned the connections? Try doing a VCDS scan or finding someone who can if you dont have one. If not NHN or as said Khufu will be able to offer advice.
     
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    The infamous Sandra.

    Yes get it on vcds scan & should advise of issues, usually its a sensor or loom come loose or corroded given location, although could be a module fault, not really major, but if its under warranty then take to dealer.
     
  5. roman3000

    roman3000 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Turn the key so the car is on, put it into reverse and go around with your ear to each sensor, you'll hear a ticking (electric) noise from each sensor. If a sensor is not working properly it will sound different/not as loud as the working sensors.
    You can also switch the sensor which is not sounding right with one that is to make sure that its not the wiring, if it still sounds different plugged into another working connection then its the sensor.

    Also scanning with VCDS will tell you which one is not working.

    I had the same problem, initially thought it was one sensor that was not working, then found out it was two. Also have a look on ebay.de for sensors if you cant find any on the UK one, also a bit cheaper.
     
  6. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    Did you use a diagnostic lead to detect which sensor it was? Funnily mine has just packed in too. VCDS saying its right rear & I've found place from german ebay that sells them & supposidly in my colour too LOL. I might change 2 around to see if error moves incase its not the sensor but a wiring issue.

    Can you test a sensor with a multimeter?
     
  7. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sandra is my weekend name really LOL
     
  8. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3 Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18,747
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Hey, I dont like the infamous Sandra remark, lol. Ew only worthy peeps get to call them selves Sandra, even at the weekend. Was just trying to help the guy out with the most knowledgable help.
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    I thought Sandra was only on a thursday & sarah fridays :p

    Dont worry girl we arent knocking yer (yet), just playful.
     
  10. Vex

    Vex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I went to Audi's the other day and the real reason was the processro for the parking sensors, so today they replaced it with a new one, and also the parking sensor was at low frequency so they changed that to, thanks for your help :D
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Anyone seen my headlight switch anywhere....................................
     
  12. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    eh?

    Well, my replacement sensor arrived from Germany today, plugged in & all sorted. The best bit, same colour as car :)
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Vex & his headlights
     
  14. Vex

    Vex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahahahaha I ordered a new one :p
     
  15. minalll

    minalll New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to replace the sensor without removing the rear bumper? You made it sound as if it was a quick job to replace.

    Thanks.

    L.
     
  16. roman3000

    roman3000 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep very easy, its clipped on from two sides. Stick your hand underneath and find the sensor, push the clips off and push the sensor out then unclip from wiring.
     
  17. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    The two outer ones look easier to remove than the inner two though I never actually tried.
     
  18. Vex

    Vex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the outer ones you can replace without removing the bumper, but for the innr ones you have to remove the bumper and the tail lights like they did on mine because it's a cabrio...
     

Share This Page