Really need help & some answers!

PipeWerks

Reaction score
hi guys! I'm pretty new to Audi so I dont have much knowledge about it.
I am going to buy an A3 1.8 (8L) very soon. My plans for this car is to put a VW VR6 2.8 engine into the car + turbocharge it. my main question is that...would it be possible to do a conversion from a front wheel drive to a four wheel drive. It is my main concern at the moment because front wheel drives really limits everything!!! Please understand that, here in Thailand, the dealers never brought the quattro versions or even the S3 in, so I dont really have a choice to buy one.

Would it be possible to do it? What should I be specially careful about? What will be done to the body of the car if it is possible to make it 4WD (such as cutting up the floor & new layout like Lancers to Evolutions). Has anyone ever done it?
Any recommendations of any sort? Really have high hopes on this project as I have always liked the A/S3. Thanks

​Hi, welcome to ASN. One of the guys may be able to advise you. Hope you enjoy the forum. :)

Mate if they never brought the quattro/s3 out how you going todo the conversion?

Thanks guys! The reason I want to make it a 4WD is so that I can go fully modify the VR6...looking at about 7-800 HP. But if I'm stuck with a FWD...the maximum I'll go is only 450 HP. more than this would make it really difficult to drive.
I've seen Mitsubishi Lancers completely swap everything and becoming an Evolution out of no where! So I'm counting on it...hope it can be done...but dont know where to start. need some info for starters

I see you have big plans bro. Look at the 4motion Golf, thats a quattro equivalent. Im not sure on the ratio but its a 4wd in the VAG range and thats whar you want. Hope this helps.

Safe motoring