1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reading fault codes on Audi B5 avant?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by wafers, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. wafers

    wafers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just bought myself a facelift B5 Audi A4 tdi avant. I missed my old B6 as far as practicality went, and the B5 ticks lots of boxes, as well as not having too much $$ tied up in it.
    Anyway, cutting to the chase, it's a pretty good car, with the exception of the alarm! After lots of googling, it looks likely to be the tailgate latch sensor, which is apparently quite common with them.
    I bought one of these for the mk2 a while back (when the mk2 Golf VR6 was mis-behaving), but didn't end up using it due to lack of obd2 port!
    [​IMG]


    U281 VW Audi Skoda Seat VAG CAN BUS Fault Code Reader Scanner diagnostic tool UK | eBay


    I've plugged it into the Audi; there are 5 main menus: Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) of Engine, ABS, Airbags and Automatic Transmission. I'm assuming it won't help me whatsoever with electrics then?


    Also what's the idea of Vagcom? I assume the scanner above is supposed to give fault codes, and Vagcom erases them/ gives the user options to tweak settings?


    On their 'site, they list about a million choices:
    [​IMG]


    I'm at a loss! All I want to do is pinpoint the fault, which I'm hoping is the tailgate latch...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    If you look in the vcds users section ,find someone near your location who could scan it for you . (cheaper option)
    or buy a cable from Nigel (NHN) on here if you want full diagnostics. He will tell you the best option.
     
  4. wafers

    wafers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, will go have a nosey!
     
  5. wafers

    wafers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Riiiight, update time. I eventually got a Vagcom cable, finally got the interface connected, and now the software crashes each time I try to scan. I'm running Vista, and a quick google suggests it's not the best combination....
    In the meantime, I've noticed the luggage compartment roof light doesn't work, even with new bulbs, with the switch in any position.
    So, I can't run vagcom, and I'm still no closer to solving this alarm problem.
    Any other suggestions? :think:
     
    #4 wafers, Aug 28, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  6. Sulli79

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    33
    Take the latch apart and check/clean the contacts on the micro switch?
     
  7. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    175
    no lights = no power/blown fuse iffy wiring?
    Where are you based?
     

Share This Page