1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radio volume

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by miw615, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    170
    I know what u mean I went from a Clio 3 years old to a audi the same age. Even the Clio had Bluetooth as standard where as my audi doesn't lol.
    Wouldn't change it for the world tho, I love the A3 ;)
    #81
    Richard Peters likes this.
  2. Richard Peters
    Offline

    Richard Peters Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Agreed. Lovely car, apart from the stereo issue (and the road noise!).
    #82
  3. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    26
    This thread is about Bose - assume you don't have Bose - in any case the thread's about the standard OEM fit.
    You might like to start a sep thread for your issue - to answer (briefly), if your car is non-Bose, the volume related speed signal is supplied via Canbus - a three wire network that also delivers the ignition on/off, illumination etc signals -maybe you have a canbus interface box somewhere, or maybe the Pioneer can interpret Canbus.
    #83
  4. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    170
    I can't hear any road noise due to my stereo going up and down lol ;)
    #84
    nluk100 and Richard Peters like this.
  5. Richard Peters
    Offline

    Richard Peters Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    :D :D
    #85
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Only uses 2 wires, can hi/lo, for the audio system & other modules.
    #86
  7. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    26
    Of course, you have me bang to rights :)
    #87
  8. nluk100
    Offline

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    46
    Finally fixed the volume issue on my RNS-E - turned AudioPilot off with VCDS!

    Go into radio/satnav and goto adaption

    I used the drop-down menum on mine but I think it's channel 8 - gala, change from 255 (bose autopilot) to 0 (gala), then the menu comes up on the rns-e audio controls and you can set the level of volume adjustment between 0 (none) to 5 (maximum)
    #88
    RobbieWebs likes this.
  9. RobbieWebs
    Offline

    RobbieWebs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    170
    I didn't think it was that easy for some reason ...
    Cheers for posting it up :)
    Funny thing is mine has not had a problem for ages and has settled down.
    Starting to think the heat in the summer played a part in it ...
    Iv still got a brand new Bose mic i was going to change lol :)
    #89
  10. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    106
    My volume sometimes goes up and down when listening to radio thought it was my dodgey hearing, 2011 sline with concert radio NOT Bose and no rnse
    #90
  11. nluk100
    Offline

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    46
    Go into the concert menu and adjust the GALA settings - these are speed related and not background noise therefore more consistent. The RNSE AudioPilot issue is completely different - the volume will go up and down on its own regardless of speed (although only noticeable at low speeds and low volume levels tbh).

    Seems to have resolved it on my car (MK2 RNSE with BOSE)
    #91
    Andy Crooks likes this.
  12. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    106
    Thanks
    #92
  13. nluk100
    Offline

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmm, thought I'd update my post as all was OK for 2 weeks but then it went back to how it was before!

    Looks like the only fix is to do the wiring retrofit on the amp! Damn!
    #93

Share This Page