1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

radio troubles

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jamspoon1991, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. jamspoon1991
    Offline

    jamspoon1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 3, 2014]
    So i removed my concept radio from my car cause it was busted but cant find a adaptor that will fit the wires so i can put a new radio in any advice ?
    #1
  2. jamspoon1991
    Offline

    jamspoon1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. jamspoon1991
    Offline

    jamspoon1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. Spatula
    Offline

    Spatula S3 8P

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Feb 4, 2014]
    Halfords usually have a massive range of adaptors that will help you out. Give them a try?
    #4
  5. andykn
    Online

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 4, 2014]
    Often the manufacturer of the new radio will provide adapters if you go to their website. For an A3 you'll need to know if its ISO or Quadlock fittings. Look on the back of the old radio and google "Audi A3 ISO" and Audi A3 Quadlock" in Images to see the difference. Whether you have Bose or not makes a difference too.

    And you'll probably need a CANbus adapter, the 12v power to the radio isn't switched by the ignition, the car sends a signal to the radio to turn on and off using the CANbus so you'll need an adapter to take the CANbus signal and switch 12v for the radio.

    And you might need an adapter for the steering wheel controls if you have them, but I didn't bother.
    #5

Share This Page