1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radio Reception Problem - HELP!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mowog80, Feb 24, 2013.

  1. mowog80
    Offline

    mowog80 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a Audi A3 Sprotback with a Symphony 2 headunit, I have a issue with my radio reception.

    The radio reception has always been poor since I got the car 2 years ago, but was okay.

    I have just installed some amplifiers in the boot running off the original headunit via it pre-outs. Now when I turn the system on the radio reception goes completely but is slightly better with the boot lid open. Having read other posts on here I had the rear screen replaced yesterday (3 of the lower elements were not working and looked damaged), but this has not fixed the radio reception issue. I have scanned for fault codes and everything is clear.

    I am guessing I need to replace the diversity amp, upper screen amp or diversity selector. This could obviously get very expensive if I replace these and the problem still persists

    Any advice would be greatly received!

    Thanks,

    Nick
    #1
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Welcome to the site Nick

    What year is the car & does the head unit have silver knobs?
    #2
  3. mowog80
    Offline

    mowog80 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply!

    It's a 2006 A3 without chrome knobs, to my knowledge it the original radio for the car. I intend to upgrade to the RNS-E at some point and understand that my antenna setup should suit this (8P4035225A and 8P4035225B) but as the radio doesn't seem to work I want to get this fixed first. It would appear the aerial is picking up interference from my amplifiers (these are high end Audison Thesis amplifiers).

    Any ideas? I am toying with ordering both aerail amps, but it could also be the selector or cables! Should I see faults when I scan with VCDS?

    Cheers,

    Nick
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I would wire a speaker direct to the head unit front speakers input, remove fuses to the rear amps & then test antenna system.

    I hold those amps in stock for repairs I do on site, I also have some mk1 rns-e's for sale for a good price, so maybe I could look at your issues at same time as upgrade head unit?

    PM if of interest.
    #4

Share This Page