1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radio problem

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Nitro, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 6, 2012]
    Hi Guys, my volume on my Audi Concert stereo in now totally stuffed, full or off. I heard about a company called Maple Audio who repair these. But I am un able to contact them. Does any one know any one who does repair or replace these? I want to keep my car OE.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Jan 6, 2012]
    Chuck it in the bin and fit a nice aftermarket unit. Becker make a couple that blend in very well with the dash.
    #2
  4. lowandslow
    Offline

    lowandslow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2012]
    i had this problem with mine and everywhere i took it said 'bin it, not cost affective' i now have a sony unit for the same cost as fix.
    #3
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jan 6, 2012]
    ^^^ As above
    #4
  6. hardhitter
    Offline

    hardhitter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2012]
    I got mine done by maple audio and I was very happy with the job, wanted to keep it oem like yourself.
    Are you sure they aren't on holiday or something ? It cost me about £100 plus re-delivery.
    It's been fine for over 2 years.
    #5
  7. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 7, 2012]
    Thanks guys, I will try Maple audio again. The problem I have is about two years ago I replaced my speakers with Kicker units from USA that all fitted in original housings, sounds awesome now, but they are a different ohm to normal. So if I replace the head unit they will need to be replaced again, won't they? Plus my CD multi changer is controlled by the original head unit, what would I do then?
    All advise appreciated, thanks
    #6
  8. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Jan 7, 2012]
    Are they 2ohm to run with the Bose amp?
    #7
  9. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 8, 2012]
    Yes 2ohm not 4 ohm, it was the rear shelf speakers i replaced as mine were blown the units are subs in the shelf of the sedan, the kicker units are 6inch drivers with twice the size magnets, they made the world of difference. They cost quite a bit but were cheaper than audi quoted me for replacement units
    #8
  10. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 8, 2012]
    I have a OE Headunit. Wasn't perfect volume switch but certainly worked 99.9% of the time. Open to offers on it?
    #9
  11. Nitro
    Offline

    Nitro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 9, 2012]
    By the way, how do you remove the standard audi concert radio from the dash, is it the two slots at the bottom, do you need a special tool or just a flat piece of metal?
    #10
  12. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Jan 9, 2012]
    Radio removal tools are the best bet, cheap enough on eBay.
    #11

Share This Page