1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

radio in safe mode , label help

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Jonny_doe, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. Jonny_doe
    Offline

    Jonny_doe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    I've made some major work done on in engine of my 1998 A4
    anyway it's come back to me with the radio stuck in safe mode , and i haven't got the code for it ( it's been ripped out of the manual )

    and i've heard alot of people say the codes on the label in the tyre well in the boot ,
    but theres loads of numbers on there , can anyone help ??

    here's a jpeg of it ...

    [​IMG]


    is this the right label ??? as it's the only one there .....

    edit :
    I've tried 2923 , 1289 , 8958 , 7023 , 2895 and non of these work
    #1
  2. gilly35
    Offline

    gilly35 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    you can either take your car to Audi and they reckon they have to go on line to Germany for the code, and they charge you about £35.00 + VAT for the pleasure, or have it de coded at one of those auto electrician/radio places for £10.00-£15.00 Same happened on my g/f's A3 after i removed the ECU. I've fitted her a nice aftermarket head unit, although even that aint simple-you have to buy a converter lead for the Bose system and a face plate-mind it does sound sweet. Regards. Paul
    #2
  3. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,893
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    when my went I just went to my local Audi dealer with logbook and I.D. and he got back to me a couple of hours later with the code, and no charge.
    #3
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    33
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    Yeah they've changed the process and now charge 30min labour, which is how long it takes the average Audi engineer to type in the VIN number, apparently.
    #4
  5. imported_disley
    Online

    imported_disley Guest

    [Feb 11, 2005]
    you cant rush those boys /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #5
  6. imported_kbininger
    Online

    imported_kbininger Guest

    [Feb 13, 2005]
    I called my dealer and they gave me the code over the phone, no charge.
    #6
  7. waveform2
    Offline

    waveform2 * J e d i *

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2005]
    Jesus thats amazing, i'm well impressed! bet my local s t e a l e r wouldnt do it for free. They are robbing cnuts! hehe Nice one tho mate /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif
    #7
  8. imported_GezzerS4
    Online

    imported_GezzerS4 Guest

    [Feb 13, 2005]
    Yep, It's a painful process all right, they need to connect to Germany, code is only valid for a day or so or some rubbish, can't do it Saturday as Germany is closed, Cost about £30.00, got to leave the car with them for best part of the day, Blah Blah.

    I bitched and moaned so much to the service manager, that he did it on Saturday, while I waited, and for £10.00 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
    #8

Share This Page