1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

radio advice needed...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by cjhill, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. cjhill
    Offline

    cjhill hmmmmm interesting.

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    Dear all,

    My radio reception is pants (2001 S3), having looked around i have concluded that, yes, the water has got into the booster circuit inside the aerial base.

    Now, ive tried to dry it out and even replaced the seals from VAG parts but to no avail.

    Audi stealer has quoted my £50 for a new aerial base with the electornics in. The advice i need is

    1, should i now go DAB, if so how - whils maintaining original stereo ?
    2, if not - where else could i get the part, £50 sound like alot.

    any idea's

    cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 27, 2015]

  3. VeeDub Geezer
    Offline

    VeeDub Geezer Ex-20v Coupe Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    id say try a salvage yard (normally £10-£15 pounds) for a replacement aerial

    as for DAB i think you will have to either change the stereo or fit a Revo box (not that Revo... lol)

    http://www.revo.co.uk/store/in-car.php

    [​IMG]

    HTH
    #2
  4. campbell
    Offline

    campbell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    same happened to mine, i paid 55 quid all in at a local radio specialist and it took them about 2hours to do and the reception is crystal clear
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    Audi moved the aerial amp on A3/S3's from the beesting base to the HU in about 1998 as they were getting so many failures and it was a pig of a job to replace. So you'll probably find just using an active antenna amp will cure the problem.
    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/aerial-adaptor-p-211.html
    #4
  6. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    I would not recommend the Revo.

    I got one a year ago that came with a really cr@p windscreen antenna that has never worked acceptably.
    If you leave the thing plugged in to the cradle overnight it will happily drain your battery for you.
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    "If you leave the thing plugged in to the cradle overnight it will happily drain your battery for you."
    Only if you've wired it up incorrectly to a permanent live. Hardly the fault of the Revo. A mobile phone or Road Angel will do exactly the same.
    #6
  8. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,105
    Likes Received:
    957
    [Jan 7, 2007]
    I've got a Revo, wired correctly to the ignition live , as Andymac pointed out, and connected to an external aerial on the rear-window. It's fine.
    #7
  9. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 9, 2007]
    The Revo manual says in the installation manual in two places to connect "to the vehicle's power supply" and twice "to vehicle 12V power supply".
    In prior experience of fitting such things, instructions in other manuals use words like accessory or switched when they don't mean use a permanent live.
    Perhaps the person who wrote this manual missed that by mistake if they meant switched.

    But, further to that the Switching on and off instructions state "When you first fit Revo into its cradle it will be in standby mode with the display blank and no sound playing.
    Revo will also be in standby mode when the vehicle's ignition is switched on." Would that not be off instead of standby in the first instance when a switched supply is used?
    #8
  10. NEiLS3LK51
    Offline

    NEiLS3LK51 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 9, 2007]
    jdp, you say yours uses "an external aerial on the rear-window", is that because you could not get the interior antenna supplied to work acceptably either?
    #9
  11. SteveS
    Offline

    SteveS S6 avant

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 9, 2007]
    do vagparts do a replacment base cheaper?
    #10

Share This Page