1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

R-Tech stage 2 plus. Is my car ready?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by g60leigh, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Once I get my clutch replaced I'm looking for a custom map.
    Been in touch with r-tech and I think I'm close to the spec needed for the stage 2 plus.

    My two worry areas are.

    1 Bar plus actuator needed - I'm running standard K04 actuator which comfortably holds over one Barr. Is this sufficient? Or do I need one that holds 1 bar with n75 disconnected.

    Intercooler.
    I have a ah fabs v1 intercooler. If I upgrade the pipework to 2.5" will the core be up to the job?

    I'm aiming for 300bhp - turbo permitting.

    I have the WMI installed already and have Bosch 550's in their way over the pond to me.

    I'm hoping I'm close to spec needed.
    #1
    Westy likes this.
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,731
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Bills lupo runs the V1 core with 63mm pipework at 300hp... be fine

    <tuffty/>
    #2
    g60leigh likes this.
  3. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    That would be great if it would. I have WMI set up too so should be extra help. Never (yet) had any heat problems.
    #3
  4. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    Leigh what's your cara full spec? Similar to mine I think.

    Don't worry about the actuator too much as niki won't go above 21psi.
    #4
    g60leigh likes this.
  5. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Forge FMDV008 Recirculation Dump Valve
    Revo Stage 2 ECU Map
    Badger 5 V2 TIP with J&R Cone filter and Heat Shield
    TFSI Coil packs with NGK Iridium Spark Plugs
    Evap removal
    Miltek Cat back stainless steel exhaust
    AH Fabrications V1 front mount intercooler
    Relentless V2 tubular steel manifold
    Relentless V3 3” Down pipe and 200 cell sports catalytic converter
    Oil catch can and PCV removal
    Titanium manifold heat shield
    AEM 30-3000 Progressive WMI

    Running standard K04 but seems strong

    Just had timing belt. Water pump. Oil pump and pick up changed on last service (2weeks ago)

    Stage 3 paddle clutch coming soon.
    #5
  6. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    I'm gong off of the email I received from one of the guys at r-tech and that was on their requirement list for stage 2 plus.
    #6
  7. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,640
    Likes Received:
    285
    If you want an actuator.. BBT is the man. I only popped one on because mine was fubard! But just turned out it made everything better lol! Have you got a manifold? My injectors maxed out at 280bhp!
    #7
    g60leigh likes this.
  8. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Relentless v2 exhaust mani.
    Standard inlet.

    Bosch 550's on way ready. Still need adaptors though.
    #8
  9. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    Same a mine Leigh except I have a decat. How's your fuel pump?
    #9
  10. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Fuel pump is fine as far as I know. Is there a way of testing?
    #10
  11. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    You can put a gauge on the fuel line to check. My pump was brand new but that is one o the big mods that people don't realise.

    I'm excited to see what yours can do.
    #11
    g60leigh likes this.
  12. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Will look into that. Thanks for the heads up. May hit eBay to price one up.

    I'm excited myself for this. I'm running stage two revo now with a few adjustments on the SPS switch. But never been one to chase rolling road figures. So don't truly know what I'm at now.
    #12
  13. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Do you know what pressure it should be running?
    Looking a fuel pressure gauges now lol.
    #13
  14. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    I can't remember but bill posted on a thread in the last 2 weeks advising someone of the pressure.
    #14
  15. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Found it.

    It should be 3 Barr + boost pressure and rise with boost.
    #15
    Westy likes this.
  16. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    Be worth checking for boost leaks before the remap, in case there is something that is not as simple as just tightening up the clamp.
    #16
    g60leigh likes this.
  17. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Given it a thorough visual after getting it back from timing belt. And holding boost with no drop off.
    Unfortunately I don't have access to a smoke tester. Would love to test with one of them.
    #17
  18. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    I use a compressor hooked up to the TIP and squirt soapy water over joints and look out for bubbles. mcgyver mechanics 101 :)
    #18
    S3_, s3dave, Westy and 1 other person like this.
  19. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    I've got a tester I can use similar to that. If I can adapt it to fit K04 tip.
    #19
  20. cecilthesausage
    Offline

    cecilthesausage ...It's Never Finished...

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    111
    My pal has a smoke tester Leigh.... Manser motors over on the BonLea.... Behind the old Audi Garage...
    #20
    g60leigh likes this.
  21. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    You know how much he would charge to run a test Rob?
    #21
  22. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,553
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    Id be inclined to get an uprated actuator from dan.
    Whilst it might not give bigger headline figures, not that youre chasing any, but power and torque will be sustained longer, that will be a big difference in performance from a car that hdas a weak stock one.
    Gops' results speak for themselves.
    #22
    g60leigh likes this.
  23. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    How much of a job is it to fit on the S3? Is it a turbo off job or can it be done in situ?

    Thanks for all the pointers guys.
    #23
  24. cecilthesausage
    Offline

    cecilthesausage ...It's Never Finished...

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    111
    I'm not sure.... Have a ride over and see him tell him I sent ye....
    #24
  25. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Lmao. Tell him Vinny sent ya.

    Got a few bits to change over first. Including the red turbo flexi ( thank you for that mate 😉 )
    #25
  26. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    20 mins max to change the actuator leigh..

    Charge pipe off, 2 nuts turbo side ...then the nut holding the rod on the wastegate, just may have to mess with the pre load to get it spot on (usually 3-4 turns from the wastegate been shut)
    #26
    g60leigh likes this.
  27. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Cool
    Done in situ?
    #27
  28. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    728
    yeah edited....above..
    #28
    g60leigh likes this.
  29. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Sounds good. I like easy jobs.
    #29
    Westy likes this.
  30. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Messaged Dan to see what he says about actuator.

    Toying with idea of changing intercooler pipework still.
    #30
  31. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,440
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    I'd say an actuator is absolutely essential, for what it costs, and the figures you're hoping to get, it'd be madness not to do it given what we know now through the last 18 months of development.

    Also, if your fuel pump is original, it'll be highly likely to be a limiting factor IMO
    #31
    g60leigh likes this.
  32. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    I agree. The invaluable advice in here has put them firmly on my radar.

    Going to assess the fuel pressure with an inline gauge and then look at options for up rated fuel pump. I've seen a few options for FWD but not come across any for 4wd. Yet!
    #32
  33. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,440
    Likes Received:
    1,281
    Problem is, with a fuel pressure gauge, it'll only be measuring whether it's keeping up NOW won't it? Not whether it'll keep up when most is asked of it, if you see what I mean?

    Fred saw very decent figures from his ko4 with a stock actuator, but on the whole it seems that power and torque are far easier to sustain with a decent actuator fitted, like on Gops car, it seemed to be the key to a sound result.

    Very good cars will still make the figures without clearly, but better to be prepared I'd say.
    #33
    StaceyS3, Gops and Westy like this.
  34. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    That's a very good point Mr Prawn.

    Fuel pump now added to the list. Any suggestions for updated options.

    Actuator will be changed. Just waiting for Dan to get back to me and one will be ordered.

    😃
    #34
  35. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    309
    that DA-31 seems to be a popular choice for you guys on that side of the world.
    #35
  36. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Is that an in tank replacement. ?

    Will search it out when I'm at home.
    #36
  37. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    No it's an inline one.
    #37
  38. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    Will that be sufficient or do I need both upgrading?

    I really need to get chance to sit in front if computer and have a search. Can't find anything in tappatalk
    #38
  39. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    You really need to have a healthy in tank pump. The pump will support the power you want. If you then want more power you can add an inline.
    #39
  40. s33nyboy12
    Offline

    s33nyboy12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    168
    Just seem this is classifieds on here:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/classifieds.php?do=viewitem&itemid=9155&urlid=2


    Might be if use.......... Someone in the know can tell you.


    Sean
    #40

Share This Page