1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quick RNS-E install question

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A3Bash, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. A3Bash
    Offline

    A3Bash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you guys put the GPS aerial? And what did you stick it on with.

    TIA
    #1
  2. magnus911
    Offline

    magnus911 R8GGA

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    1
    On my current car, I stuck it under the dash, on top of the unit itself. It works OK but gets a shitty signal in built up areas or when the weather's bad. On my previous car, I stuck the aerial at the bottom of the windscreen on the dash, right in the corner of the passenger's side. Never had an issue with reception in that position; but it was visible so didn't look OEM.
    #2
  3. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    One place to stick it is on top of the glovebox which some people need to remove anyhow if they are going single DIN to doubke DIN.

    I did this and it gets ok reception.

    Mine came with a small adhesive pad on the bottom. Double sided tape should be ok. Make sure you secure the excess cable lengths that most aerials come with else it will rattle around like a proverbial female dog

    Alternatively you could go OEM and run a cable up through the headliner and use a 'shark fin' aerial on the roof.
    #3
  4. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    i ran mine up the pillar its magetic and is stuck behind the headlining never have issues with reception least ive had was 3 satellites
    #4
  5. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I placed mine behind the dash clocks, using self adhesive Velcro pads. Works a treat and never have less than 6-7 satelites
    #5
  6. A3Bash
    Offline

    A3Bash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies, just 1 more question..I've got the unit fitted it & luckily didn't need coding. I've got a multi-function steering wheel and the mode button doesn't seem to work? Is it meant to and if so will it need coding? Cheers
    #6
  7. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the other buttons , like volume etc work? If so then you are ok.

    Without Bluetooth the mode button does absolutely nothing :)
    #7
  8. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    5
    It will need coding, as you won't be getting nav instructions to your DIS.
    #8
  9. A3Bash
    Offline

    A3Bash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    All other buttons work and the info is on the DIS, street name and directions. So the mode button is for the bluetooth, might get that fitted next month. I've bought a SD HD card 4gb from Morrisons. I've put some tracks on but it just says that it's loading and after a while it says the slot is empty. What sort of cards do you guys use?
    #9
  10. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Boycie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,830
    Likes Received:
    192
    I think BBSBOY on here wired his antenna up to the interior lighting and positioned it in there for optimum reception
    #10
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Just fit it just in front of the passenger airbag module above the glovebox, its very thin dash there & gets great reception, double sided tape & as long as you check the airbag path, it shouldnt interfere with airbag if ever is triggered.

    Personally I fit sharkfins on the roofs of my cars & others if they want, strangely it does actually make the car look better IMHO, did my missus SB this weekend & looks great, just gotta run extension cable to rns now.
    #11
  12. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    What a busy weekend you had Nige!!!!!!
    #12
  13. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    As for the SD card question, Make SURE you didn't get SDHC (High capacity) as these don't work.

    You need REGULAR SD, which USUALLY don't go above 2GB. There are a FEW out there which are 4GB regular SD, but if your card says SDHC on it, then it won't work.

    I put my antenna behind the instrument cluster, and never have ANY reception issues whatsoever. I also have the sharkfin in case I feel like running an extension... Maybe one day I will...

    Keith
    #13
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    More like didnt, would help if I remembered the poxy locking nut socket so me & wheelie could upgrade the missus SB suspension & brakes, but alas, was fun, drunk loads & tanned to the hills, lol

    PS. Havnt forgotten the thread dont worry lass @)
    #14
  15. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    listen to the man sharkfins are where its at, id have done one had the parts on order etc from audi, cancelled em when i bought the s
    #15
  16. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would love to have a sharkfin too but im kinda worried drilling holes on the top of my car :S
    #16
  17. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    its not a big deal tbh just mark it all off with tape centre it etc, pilot drill
    #17
  18. Sarah's A3
    Offline

    Sarah's A3 MODERATOR V6 S3 Hybrid Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    28
    yeh! but you had a laugh thats the main thing!!! And some fun with a seat or two and a neighbour lol!!!

    lol, dont forget could be fun and put it to bed once and for all!!!!
    #18
  19. A3Bash
    Offline

    A3Bash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went & bought the SDHC card! Should have come to you guys first. Anyway thanks for the help
    #19
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Yeah was ok, poxy seat , Jase & toolsets dont go, lol.
    #20

Share This Page