1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

questions regarding used chips

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ImportRacer, Aug 6, 2003.

  1. ImportRacer
    Offline

    ImportRacer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2003]
    I have the opportunity to pick up a used GIAC chipped ecu for $400 CDN plus my stock ECU. Has anyone purchased a used one before? If so, any problems?
    Would it be a good idead to pick it up? Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2003]
    Hi there, personally i wouldnt buy a used chip/ecu as u could have problesm with compatibility and whether that particular chip was mapped for that particular engine. As well as having to faff around with immobilser codes etc.
    Is it worth it ?? How much they cost if u were to buy a new one ?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #2
  4. ImportRacer
    Offline

    ImportRacer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2003]
    Well, this ECU is coming off the exact same year and model as mine. I'm pretty iffy about purchasing a used one also, but if there aren't any problems with it, then why not save that few hundred dollars. Would there still be any problems even if it's coming from the exact same year and model?
    #3

Share This Page