1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions about MMI and Reverse camera

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C6 Chassis)' started by MrsTeriyaki, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    Hi everyone,

    Me and my better half just purchased a lovely 07 A6 S-Line and I have some questions about updating the MMI, installing Bluetooth and a reverse camera.

    Foolishly we assumed the car had Bluetooth and iPod integration, or at least some way to play our own music outside of the standard disc changer in the glovebox.

    I believe we have MMI High 2G, attached are photos showing our versions of MMI and sat nav.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1396991652.004533.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1396991682.043098.jpg

    - There is a Phone button which displays Phone not installed when pressed. Can anyone advise me on how to install this feature?

    - Can anyone recommend a good reverse camera.

    - How do we update our sat nav? We are driving to Italy soon so this will be a necessity.

    - Is AMI the best way to get my iPod music play via the MMI

    I realise that's a lot of questions to answer.. Many thanks in advance! :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 25, 2014]

  3. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    288
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    To get the reverse camera on your current MMI setup will require a replacement MMI control head with a FBAS connector as shown on this link AUDI A8 D3/4E 4.2 QUATTRO MMI INTERFACE CONTROL UNIT ECU WITH LINK CABLE | eBay it's the green connector your current MMI control head will be missing.

    Once you have changed the control head you can then but the camera retrofit kit APS Advanced -Complete- Audi A6 4F w/Rear Camera-34523-1_M.


    For the BT a kit like this will be required AUDI MMI 2G A4 A5 A6 A8 Q7 BLUETOOTH retrofit install kit plug&play 4E0910336M | eBay

    To install all of the above you will need to get VCDS Ross-Tech: VCDS to code the module you are fitting into the car and you will also need to visit Audi to have component protection removed from the control head, if you don't you will get no sound, and other things won't work
    #2
  4. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    288
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    IF your IT savvy then you can download the latest NAV-DVD's or look on ebay for users selling copies, mods will not allow links to pirated media.

    I think AMI is the best option, but the Dension Gateway 500 is another, I did a quick write-up on fitting AMI http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a6-s6-...nt-bit-rebuild-repair-thread.html#post2100961 I got my module for £100 they usually go for more but keep an eye out on ebay they can come up cheap.

    One other thing to note is your software is a little out of date 4220 will support AMI but the final version for 2G MMI is 5570 you can by the update CD's from Audi for £5 don't bother with the over priced ones on ebay.
    #3
  5. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    Great thanks for your help. I've read that copies aren't trust worthy, and buying originals is best? How does the price compare?

    What are the options of connecting a hard drive or USB to the MMI to play music? I've seen these products.. http://www.xcarlink.co.uk/home.php?cat=4
    #4
  6. Aly
    Offline

    Aly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    An oem 2014 dvd is around £180 from dealers.
    #5
  7. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 8, 2014]
    I'm assuming nobody would recommend products from the website I inserted in my previous post..
    #6
  8. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    288
    [Apr 9, 2014]
    #7
  9. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 9, 2014]
    I like the look of the Dension Gateway 500, if anyone has one for sale or sees a good deal let me know. Also, if anyone can PM a link to reliable NAV-DVD too. Thanks for your help.
    #8
  10. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2014]
    £5 from Audi, how'd you manage that? They wanna book me in for a service to do it, not given me a price yet..
    #9
  11. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    288
    [Apr 12, 2014]
    Very easy go to the parts department and ask for Part number 4L0 998 961, don't ask questions about what you are buying or how it work etc. Another option would be to contact your local TPS Trade Parts Specialists again just give them the part number of what you want.
    #10
  12. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 12, 2014]
    Perfect, thanks
    #11
  13. zombic
    Offline

    zombic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 24, 2014]
    Your phone only need pairing. Press phone button (don't worry about the message about not finding the phone) then press the setup button and follow your intuition. Easy peasy
    #12
  14. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    288
    [Apr 24, 2014]
    Not if the BT module is not installed as stated in the OP. Not every A6 had BT installed it was an optional extra.
    #13
  15. MrsTeriyaki
    Offline

    MrsTeriyaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 25, 2014]
    As thought, it doesn't work. Nothing happens when you press the set up button once you've selected phone.
    #14
  16. c3nturi0n
    Offline

    c3nturi0n Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2014]
    in addition to discussed will anyone be in position to confirm am I running latest (5570) version... screenshot attached IMG_8094.jpg ?
    #15
  17. simonwjones
    Offline

    simonwjones Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2014]
    you are running 5140 mate

    Simon
    #16

Share This Page