1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question re cruise control retrofit

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Bing_IRL, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. Bing_IRL
    Offline

    Bing_IRL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I've gone through all the cruise control threads but just wondered if anyone has installed the control stalk and not need to re-code? I did the installation before on a golf and didn't need to. I've ordered the bits form the A4 and hoping that I might luck out again! :)

    Cheers,
    Bing
    #1
  2. jwhat
    Offline

    jwhat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure you do need to but sure if you out it all in and it doesn't work just get it coded another time? And hopefully you won't have to recalibrate your steering sensor.

    Do you have VCDS/vag-com?

    I'm a bit far away to help but I know there are a few people around who could help you.
    #2
  3. jaygeezer871
    Offline

    jaygeezer871 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    I recently had it fitted to my B7.
    The lad that fitted it had to hook the car up to the laptop and re-program in what features the steering wheel had, never new you could get a heated steering wheel!!!
    #3
  4. jaygeezer871
    Offline

    jaygeezer871 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    By the way for anyone wanting it fitted by the professionals i would recommend these..............

    http://vwcruise.com/

    Cost me £240 including the replacement steering column trim with the cut out for the cruise control stalk.
    #4
  5. Bing_IRL
    Offline

    Bing_IRL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers boys. I've got my emissions light on at the moment so need to get that looked at. Plan is to get them to code it then should it not work right out of the bag. Got all the necessary bits for the tidy sum of €70 on ebay.:icon_thumright:
    #5
  6. weirdfish
    Offline

    weirdfish New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    First post, and I can +1 :icon_thumright: for vwcruise.com.

    They fitted cruise and changed my center console to get rid of the phone cradle on my newly acquired 2.0 tdi s-line. It looked enough of a faff that I was glad I didn't do it myself.

    Steve.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
    #6
  7. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    for what vwcruise charge you could purchase VAGCOM from NHN, a trusted member on this forum, then purchase the cruise control off the bay for pitence and fit it yourself, its a really easy mod.
    that way you would gain by having the knowledge of doing it and still have your own vagcom which is priceless.
    #7
  8. shark_90
    Offline

    shark_90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was £240 with or without changing the steering wheel control unit?
    #8
  9. jaygeezer871
    Offline

    jaygeezer871 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, i dont know what a 'steering wheel control unit' is?
    It was a audi kit in a box, he fitted it, hooked up the laptop and hey presto!!!
    Give them a call, they are very approachable and know there stuff.
    Yes if you can do it yourself its cheaper but then again places like Fontain want nearly £400!
    #9
  10. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    It's the electronic control module that fits around the steering column, and to which all the column and wheel mounted switches connect.

    Its proper name is Steering Column Switch Module SCSM.
    #10
  11. Bing_IRL
    Offline

    Bing_IRL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    just got my bits for the retrofit but it doesn't include the 2 screws listed in its contents. Does anyone have the spec for these so I can pop to a parts place and get them?

    Cheers,
    #11
  12. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    4
    pm pjmspeedy, got mine from him, he will know the part number
    #12
  13. Bing_IRL
    Offline

    Bing_IRL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers. Came across the parts on another thread. Now to see if the local dealers have it in stock :)
    #13

Share This Page