1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Quattro Bits...

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by evilscotsman, May 31, 2008.

  1. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    12
    [May 31, 2008]
    Is it possible to retrofit the quattro bits (torsen mechanical unit) to the fwd 1.8t???
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2008]
    could be wrong but I don't think the shells are the same, the quattro has recessed areas shaped into the underside to fit drivetrain, suspension, fuel tank and exhaust
    #2
  4. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2008]
    I guess in theory anything is possible with enough time/money. The cost of this would be enormous though. As well as modifying the shell, you'd need a new gearbox, rear diff, propshafts, rear drive shafts, hubs etc etc. Sell your car and buy a Quattro if you want one that badly - much easier and cheaper.

    Never build a car you can buy.
    #3
  5. Macduff
    Offline

    Macduff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2008]
    There was a guy in the US did a 4motion conversion on a Bora to make an R32 Bora. I think he just had to change the boot floor as it's higher in Quattro/4motion cars. I believe everything else is there but you'd really have to get the bits cheap to make it worthwhile.
    #4
  6. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 1, 2008]
    The R32 boot floor thingy is to house the huge Haldex unit, I thought that Audi would probably fabricate all b6 shells the same, as it makes manufacturing and economical sense, then leave off the bits not required.

    As the Torsen is purely mechanical and self contained, it might have been simple to fit as a retro. The b5 and b6 versions dont even have the stupid torque split switch so need no in car control at all.....you would (if the shell was the same) only need the torsen centre diff, propshaft and rear axle?
    #5
  7. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 1, 2008]
    + a new gearbox that has the propshaft output.
    #6
  8. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 2, 2008]
    yeah that too.
    #7
  9. Macduff
    Offline

    Macduff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2008]
    Nope, pretty sure the B6 Quattros have a higher boot floor or a shallow wheel well for only a space saver spare.
    #8
  10. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 2, 2008]
    The Audi Torsen Diff is just behind the engine, not at the back wheels. The rear axle is like a rwd axle, it shouldn't protrude into the boot floor.

    The golf haldex system is a very large unit mounted above the rear axle, hence the boot floor problem for them.

    A Torsen unit is quite small and cylindrical, weighing only several lbs according to Torsen's website.

    Anyone with a b6 quattro able to check the spare wheel for me and see if its full size wheel-well or shallow? Mines a big one :)
    #9
  11. MgHart
    Offline

    MgHart Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 2, 2008]
    My B6 avant has a full size spare wheel.
    Apparently the fuel tank is different also..shaped like a sadddle......

    Mike.
    #10
  12. jase0851
    Offline

    jase0851 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 2, 2008]
    the fuel tank is different on a quattro. i noticed in the code,ing on the control module a couple of weeks ago, and it has 2 x senders for the fuel guage
    #11
  13. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 3, 2008]
    ah, ok. Worth a try. I couldnt get the car i wanted in a quattro at the time, specific colour etc so went for the fwd, but traction isnt great wi the 163 so when i get it remapped to 205 it will be worse :(
    #12

Share This Page