1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Q for folks with factory fit cruise control..

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Tooks, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. Tooks
    Offline

    Tooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    I retrofitted cruise control on my A3 over the weekend, and everything went well, and the cruise works exactly as it should.

    I was expecting to see a light on the dash cluster though, for when cruise is switched on, but can't find one!

    Does the A3 have such a light?!

    Ta in advance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 24, 2014]

  3. batwad
    Offline

    batwad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    Nope, no light.
    #2
  4. Booth_S4
    Offline

    Booth_S4 Riding on V8 power

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    i cant tell when i have my cruise control turned on! id be none the wiser if i hadnt physically turned it on myself!
    #3
  5. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    No dash light, there is a switch to turn the whole lot on/off on the stalk though..
    #4
  6. Tooks
    Offline

    Tooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    Ah, ok, thanks guys, correct that there's no light then!

    It's not a scientific test, but I've done 200+ motorway miles in the last couple of days, and I'm sure I'm averaging a few more mpg letting the car do the throttle, rather than my right foot.

    At this rate, the stalk and loom will have paid for themselves in a few weeks.
    #5
  7. shollis
    Offline

    shollis flat in fifth.....

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    Which cruise control kit did you fit? Is it a hard job?
    Ive been thinking of doing the same to mine.

    Cheers

    Stephen
    #6
  8. claudefrog
    Offline

    claudefrog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    any instructions on how you done this?

    any pics at all?
    #7
  9. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    I have a light on mine........! Comes up on the dash!
    #8
  10. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    ............nah, just kiddin!! :)
    #9
  11. Tooks
    Offline

    Tooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jan 30, 2007]
    :eek:D Had me going for a min!

    shollis, it was the 1J0 971 425 stalk and loom from Vagparts. Either that or the 8LO one will work though. They cost just over £60.

    I followed the guide over on this website...

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/dgace/cruise_control.htm

    The installation on the A3 differs a little bit from the Golf in that the airbag is secured by two torx bolts.

    The hardest bit of the install was trying to get the black/blue wire out of the dashboard fusebox without breaking it, and access to the engine control loom is awkward!

    My loom also didn't arrive with any labels telling me which wire went into which plug on the engine control loom, but fortunately I found a wiring diagram on elsawin.

    It wasn't a 5 minute job, and took me about 4 hours in total, but I was taking my time. If I did another one, it would probably be a couple of hours.

    I didn't take any pics of the install, as I think the website above covers most things.

    I'm happy to help out anybody who fancies a go though, or needs it activating via VAGCOM if they're in the Leics/Lincs/Beds/Cambs/Notts area.
    #10

Share This Page