1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

programming spare key

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nel, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. Nel
    Offline

    Nel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello
    I've just purchased a spare key (no lock/unlock buttons) from the dealer but they tell me the key needs to be programmed in order to start the car (another £35 ish). Just wondering if this is true or can I program the key myself?
    Thanks
    #1
  2. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is true and you need to take id in as well!!
    #2
  3. cbass
    Offline

    cbass Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whoa, hold on.... It depends if your car has an immobilizer or not. If it does NOT, then you can have any good locksmith cut it and no programming will be necessary. If you do have an immobilizer, then either the dealer or someone knowledgeable with a VAG-COM tool has to do it.
    #3
  4. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes you need to take them all in and they do them all at once
    #4
  5. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes you were right hmmm about seven months ago that was corect and could have been done like that but now it cant.
    reason being as stated above the seven digit code is entered straight into the car via the VAS 5051, the seven digit code is transfered by the FAZIT database in germany nolonger can customers or dealers be supplied the seven digit code, some people just wont learn but try for yourself an you will find that what i have said above is true and that you have obiously no idea what you are talking about hehehehehe.........

    oh yeah and if you think you can reuse the number that you had from the past by changing two numbers then you are wrong, otherwise audi technical would have told us that!!!!
    or we would have learned it on one of the dealer courses..

    SO LETS CLEAR SOMTHING UP FOR ONCE AND FOR ALL YOU CN NO LONGER USE VAG COM OR ANY OTHER SIMILAR DEVICE TO CODE KEYS OR REPLACE ECUS WITH IMMOBLIZER 3....................

    clever idea really cause it is all part of block exemption, so now you need to be an apporved dealer to have a 5051 and to do that have to be hso accredited which to get to that stage will cost around £500,000.
    #5
  6. cbass
    Offline

    cbass Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I don't live in the UK, I should have known that there were some differences on when the immobilizers started being put in cars over there. I know (over here at least) that only certain dealers will give out 7 digit key codes for coding keys. I have had others tell me that the computer generates them and they can't give them out. (there's audi technicians for you, one says one thing and another says something totally different on the same day!) Now, it definately could be different over there. Usually, the UK gets German things faster than over here. I would be curious to know where the Immo III info is coming from, along with the fact that Vag-Com can no longer be used to code it? Do you have a link to a write up or Audi Bulletin? If that's true, then there are a lot of things that need to be updated. Here's one thing for example.
    http://ross-tech.com/vag-com/cars/Immo3-key-matching.html

    Can you give us any hard evidence that it won't work anymore from any dealer? I know everybody on here wants to keep updated on these things, especially because they are so potentially expensive.
    #6
  7. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    foolish3uk said:
    yes you were right hmmm about seven months ago that was corect and could have been done like that but now it cant.
    reason being as stated above the seven digit code is entered straight into the car via the VAS 5051, the seven digit code is transfered by the FAZIT database in germany nolonger can customers or dealers be supplied the seven digit code, some people just wont learn but try for yourself an you will find that what i have said above is true and that you have obiously no idea what you are talking about hehehehehe.........

    oh yeah and if you think you can reuse the number that you had from the past by changing two numbers then you are wrong, otherwise audi technical would have told us that!!!!
    or we would have learned it on one of the dealer courses..

    SO LETS CLEAR SOMTHING UP FOR ONCE AND FOR ALL YOU CN NO LONGER USE VAG COM OR ANY OTHER SIMILAR DEVICE TO CODE KEYS OR REPLACE ECUS WITH IMMOBLIZER 3....................

    clever idea really cause it is all part of block exemption, so now you need to be an apporved dealer to have a 5051 and to do that have to be hso accredited which to get to that stage will cost around £500,000.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I find your tone very arrogant.

    So the fact that I programmed in a set of keys on my car only a month ago means that I don't know what I'm talking about!!?? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

    All I can say is that it works for me. I have a keygen that works out the code for you.

    God I hate people that think their way is the only way!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif
    #7
  8. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car has immobiliser 2. Immobiliser is in the dash insert.

    So I agree with foolish3uk to a certain extent. Obviously it is not possible with later cars.

    I must be lucky as I got in when Audi were happy to supply me with my code.
    #8
  9. cbass
    Offline

    cbass Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you PeteTDI, for putting us back on track with my first post. If he does not have an Immobilizer 3, he can still code his keys himself.

    Nel, What kind/year of car is it?
    #9
  10. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunately not, not trying to be anoying here,just do the same as others and help you out, you must be plugged into the fazit database to code up keys, so only can be done through VAS 5051. seven digit code cannot be obtained! on any of the immoblizer versions.

    i have got one question though, how does you key gen work because i could understnd how it might work on the older keys but not on the newer rolling code keys, only the fazit database holds the keycodes for all teh cars around the world????
    #10
  11. Nel
    Offline

    Nel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its an 03 plate s3, but i've got it booked in at audi now anyway so I'll let them recode it for me.
    #11

Share This Page