1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Programming Keys

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by james_suckling, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. james_suckling
    Offline

    james_suckling Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having bought a new key, and swapped the blade over (just for asthetics as the old key looked at bit worn), I've managed to completly bugger up the coding on all my keys now!

    I've put the blade back in the original key now (because although I could get the new key to unlock the car, it wouldn't start it), but now I cant seem to have more than one key working the central locking remotely.

    If I put the spare key in, and program the original key in the door, I can get it to work. If I try and program the spare key, this then works, but the other doesn't.

    What am I doing wrong!!!???? I just seem to be swapping the coding from one key to the next, instead of programming them both!
    #1
  2. trevorb33
    Offline

    trevorb33 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    how are you trying to code them, via a key in ignition and one in the door?
    #2
  3. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Programming

    When

    key added or replace
    system malfunction

    How

    NOTE: max of 4 keys can be programmed (one at a time).

    memory positions of existing keys can be identified using diagnostic equipment
    If Diagnostic equipment available:
    locate vacant memory position for new key
    locate memory position for key to be replaced
    carry out programming procedure for this key only
    if diagnostic equipment not available: Obtain and reprogram all keys

    NOTE: Existing key memory positions will be overwritten

    switch ignition ON, Use key not fitted with remote control
    Manually lock driver's door using key.

    Complete the following within 30 seconds:

    Within 5 seconds press unlock button on first key once (programs memory positions 1)
    Indicator lamps flash once to indicate signal received.
    Wait 5 seconds.
    Press unlock button once to confirm programming.
    Vehicle unlocks. Program mode deactivated.
    Switch ignition OFF. Remove Key.

    To program remaining keys into memory positions 2,3 and 4. Carry out the complete procedure below for each key:

    Switch ignition ON. Use the key not fitted with remote control.
    Manually lock driver's door using key.
    Within 5 seconds press unlock button at 1 second intervals, as follows:
    Twice for memory position 2 (2nd key).
    Three times for memory position 3 (3rd key)
    Four times for memory position 4 (4th key)
    Indicator lamps flash once every time unlock button is pressed to indicate signal is received,
    Wait 5 seconds.
    Press Unlock button once to confirm programming.
    Vehicle unlocks. Programming mode deactivated.
    Switch ignition OFF, Remove key.

    NOTE: Ignition MUST be switched OFF between each key programming procedure.

    Memory erase procedure

    When

    Lost key fitted with remote control
    Incorrect number of keys supplied with vehicle.

    Switch ignition ON.
    Manually lock driver's door using key.
    Press unlock button 5 times, at one second intervals.
    Indicator Lamp flash once every time unlock button is pressed, to indicate signal is received.
    Wait 6 seconds.
    Press unlock button once (to confirm erase procedure)
    Switch ignition OFF. Remove key from ignition.
    Remote control should no longer operate system.
    Obtain and program all keys.
    #3
  4. james_suckling
    Offline

    james_suckling Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that Khufu.

    I was trying the one key in the ignition, and one in the door method, but could only ever code one of the keys. I now know why!!

    Will try that in the morning...
    #4
  5. james_suckling
    Offline

    james_suckling Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorted!!

    Thanks Khufu

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #5
  6. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    sweet, that was straight out of autodata - couldn't cut n paste. Expected somebody to have answered it by the time i'd typed it all out LOL.
    #6
  7. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,020
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    This is good info khufu, maybe this one should be sticky mods?
    #7
  8. bainsyboy
    Online

    bainsyboy Guest

    I agree regarding being a sticky. I take it that this is the same procedure for all audis?
    #8
  9. share1t
    Offline

    share1t New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    i have a 52 reg a3 and only have 1 key. a friend of mine had one from his 51 reg a3 which he gave me . the numbers on the keys are the same 4do so the remote can be programed . i take it i just need to get a blade cut , but do you have to go to a stealer to get the chip inside the fob programed or is there anyone in the newcastle area that does it. cheers
    #9
  10. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can use this key. As described above, you can program the remote alarm/locking part of the fob yourself. Indeed you do have to visit the dealer to have the immobiliser part adapted.

    You can do the immobiliser part yourself if your car was built before march 2002, you have the four digit code from the "scratch off" panel on the plastic service key tag and yopu have access to VAG-COM.
    #10
  11. share1t
    Offline

    share1t New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers , i dont have the plastic service key so it looks like i have to go to my dealer and get robbed blind
    #11
  12. T11OM F
    Offline

    T11OM F Fearon

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both my keys are fob keys, does this matter when trying to reprogramm?
    #12
  13. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,020
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    No it doesn't. ;)
    #13

Share This Page