1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems adapting a new key with VCDS on 8P

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by nick9one1, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. nick9one1
    Offline

    nick9one1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got the full VCDS v11 and have followed the guide on rosstech for adapting a new fob (buttons only, not immobiliser).

    .....

    [Select]

    [46 - Cent. Conv.]
    [Adaptation - 10]

    Enter channel "01"

    [Read]


    This will display the number of currently stored remotes in "Stored Value".
    VCDS indicates that 1 fob is currently matched to the car

    Enter your total number of keys up to a maximum of 4(including any existing keys) in "New Value"
    I enter '2'

    [Test]
    seems to hang here?
    Verify that the number in "Test Value" is correct.

    test value never updates to '2'

    [Save]
    save button is greyed out, as I presume the test hasnt succeeded .

    Then press and hold (for at least one second) the UNLOCK button on the fob


    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    #1
  2. towcestervag
    Offline

    towcestervag Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    5
    erase the keys first then recode
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeah that's what I do.
    #3
  4. nick9one1
    Offline

    nick9one1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thanks, not sure what happened but the second fob just started working! I logged into VCDS again and it says 2 keys are paired.

    Just need to code in a new immobiliser chip now... I've got as far as getting the SKC with commander, and successfully logging into the Immobiliser [25] Security Access with the pin.
    #4
  5. Gilb2406
    Offline

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having this exact issue too. Car came with 2 keys and the spare works in the door and starts the car etc, but the remote doesn't function.

    VCDS shows 1 key learned and I can't update the value to 2. Scared to erase keys in case any problems occur while programming and I'm stuck with no remotes!

    Can someone 100% confirm that I have to erase the keys first, and if so, how do I do this?

    2005 A3 8P 3d 2.0 FSI

    Thanks in advance :)
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You have no choice but to erase & add both keys.
    #6
  7. Gilb2406
    Offline

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks NHN. I did do it in the end. Car blinked to acknowledge both keys but key 2 still doesn't work. Very odd. Think I need to get a new remote on fleabay
    #7
  8. Steve220
    Offline

    Steve220 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm having the same problem - a good friend of mine who works with vags says at times, they just die
    #8
  9. Gilb2406
    Offline

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like everything I suppose!

    Odd how the car recognises it when learning though!
    #9

Share This Page