1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems adapting a new key with VCDS on 8P

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by nick9one1, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got the full VCDS v11 and have followed the guide on rosstech for adapting a new fob (buttons only, not immobiliser).

    .....

    [Select]

    [46 - Cent. Conv.]
    [Adaptation - 10]

    Enter channel "01"

    [Read]


    This will display the number of currently stored remotes in "Stored Value".
    VCDS indicates that 1 fob is currently matched to the car

    Enter your total number of keys up to a maximum of 4(including any existing keys) in "New Value"
    I enter '2'

    [Test]
    seems to hang here?
    Verify that the number in "Test Value" is correct.

    test value never updates to '2'

    [Save]
    save button is greyed out, as I presume the test hasnt succeeded .

    Then press and hold (for at least one second) the UNLOCK button on the fob


    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. towcestervag

    towcestervag Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    5
    erase the keys first then recode
     
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,168
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    Yeah that's what I do.
     
  5. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thanks, not sure what happened but the second fob just started working! I logged into VCDS again and it says 2 keys are paired.

    Just need to code in a new immobiliser chip now... I've got as far as getting the SKC with commander, and successfully logging into the Immobiliser [25] Security Access with the pin.
     
  6. Gilb2406

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having this exact issue too. Car came with 2 keys and the spare works in the door and starts the car etc, but the remote doesn't function.

    VCDS shows 1 key learned and I can't update the value to 2. Scared to erase keys in case any problems occur while programming and I'm stuck with no remotes!

    Can someone 100% confirm that I have to erase the keys first, and if so, how do I do this?

    2005 A3 8P 3d 2.0 FSI

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  7. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,168
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    You have no choice but to erase & add both keys.
     
  8. Gilb2406

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks NHN. I did do it in the end. Car blinked to acknowledge both keys but key 2 still doesn't work. Very odd. Think I need to get a new remote on fleabay
     
  9. Steve220

    Steve220 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm having the same problem - a good friend of mine who works with vags says at times, they just die
     
  10. Gilb2406

    Gilb2406 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like everything I suppose!

    Odd how the car recognises it when learning though!
     

Share This Page