1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with vag-com.

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by vw754, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    39
    I have the registered version of vag-com 409.1 s.
    It was working ok until i borrowed the cable to my friend as he was having trouble with his cable.......he said your cable dont work either.

    I got it back and pluged in to my 2001 A4 audi and to my suprise it didnt work! WHY ? it was working 2 weeks ago,fine. Never had a problem,now when i plug into a car this is what i get:

    interface status = -1
    interface not ready !
    possible reasons
    incorrect com port
    interface not plugged in
    ignition not turned on
    k-line stuck
    update needed
    for more details use test screen on option screen.

    Please help! dont know why its gone like this!
     
  2. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    your mate has blown your lead up, my main guess is that he has an aftermarket stereo, this is usually the reason.
    start by measuring the voltage across pins 4 & 7 where the purple plug goes in the car.
    you should have below 9 volts with the ignition on.

    your mates car will probably be around 12v (which will blow the lead)
    your car if the lead worked before will be below 9v.
     
  3. wesley

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    7


    so will an aftermarket stereo in any car blow a lead??? what do we need to do disconnect the stereo b4 using vagcom?
     
  4. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    dont know all the in and outs of it but something when connecting another stereo to the audi loom puts 12v on the k-line which is fine untill you connect your diognostic lead.
    there is a fix, you need to put a 1k resistor across pins 4 & 7 which will bring the voltage down when ignition is on.
    i have a link somewhere, once i find it i will post it on for you.
     
  5. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
  6. bearthebruce

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    And when you buy the real genuine product from Ross-Tech, we have built in circuit detection for the aftermarket radio problem which protects both your lead and your computer. :arco:
     
  7. wesley

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    7
    if i was to use an aftermarket lead would all of the features of vagcom work or just some?
     
  8. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    you need the correct lead for the correct software version as far as im aware.
    409 doesnt let you do alot at all.
     
  9. bearthebruce

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    The aftermarket cables allow you to run the shareware version of our older product - VAG-COM. You can buy a license from Ross-Tech for a full version of that older software for $99. You can see what is supported in shareware in this Function List.
     

Share This Page