1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with vag-com.

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by vw754, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Sep 22, 2008]
    I have the registered version of vag-com 409.1 s.
    It was working ok until i borrowed the cable to my friend as he was having trouble with his cable.......he said your cable dont work either.

    I got it back and pluged in to my 2001 A4 audi and to my suprise it didnt work! WHY ? it was working 2 weeks ago,fine. Never had a problem,now when i plug into a car this is what i get:

    interface status = -1
    interface not ready !
    possible reasons
    incorrect com port
    interface not plugged in
    ignition not turned on
    k-line stuck
    update needed
    for more details use test screen on option screen.

    Please help! dont know why its gone like this!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 22, 2008]
    your mate has blown your lead up, my main guess is that he has an aftermarket stereo, this is usually the reason.
    start by measuring the voltage across pins 4 & 7 where the purple plug goes in the car.
    you should have below 9 volts with the ignition on.

    your mates car will probably be around 12v (which will blow the lead)
    your car if the lead worked before will be below 9v.
    #2
  4. wesley
    Offline

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 22, 2008]


    so will an aftermarket stereo in any car blow a lead??? what do we need to do disconnect the stereo b4 using vagcom?
    #3
  5. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 22, 2008]
    dont know all the in and outs of it but something when connecting another stereo to the audi loom puts 12v on the k-line which is fine untill you connect your diognostic lead.
    there is a fix, you need to put a 1k resistor across pins 4 & 7 which will bring the voltage down when ignition is on.
    i have a link somewhere, once i find it i will post it on for you.
    #4
  6. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
  7. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Sep 30, 2008]
    And when you buy the real genuine product from Ross-Tech, we have built in circuit detection for the aftermarket radio problem which protects both your lead and your computer. :arco:
    #6
  8. wesley
    Offline

    wesley Giac Extreme+!! Lovin it

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Sep 30, 2008]
    if i was to use an aftermarket lead would all of the features of vagcom work or just some?
    #7
  9. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 30, 2008]
    you need the correct lead for the correct software version as far as im aware.
    409 doesnt let you do alot at all.
    #8
  10. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Sep 30, 2008]
    The aftermarket cables allow you to run the shareware version of our older product - VAG-COM. You can buy a license from Ross-Tech for a full version of that older software for $99. You can see what is supported in shareware in this Function List.
    #9

Share This Page